Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at philosophy.

great skin is in

for normal to oily skin
Average Customer Rating:
4.867 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
don't just take our word for it...15 out of 15100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for great skin is in
Review 1 for great skin is in
Location:cINCINNATI, OH
age:26-30
philosophy customer for:less than one year
great value, three awesome products
Posted:November 16, 2012
Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
This is a great starter (or refill set). I love purity, it's a great work-horse cleanser, and help me is a great way to get retinol for those of us with more sensitive skin. My monly complaint about this set is the hope oil-free, it definitely doesn't do the name justice, and it has a weird smell. I love the original hope, just not this version.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for great skin is in
Location:nc
age:18-25
philosophy customer for:less than one year
this was a gift:no
gentle (finally!) AND effective
Posted:April 13, 2012
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
i have never used a product that smelled good, is gentle on my skin, and worked - until now! Finally! these products are amazing. my skin always feels great when i use them, it feels great afterwards, and it already is starting to look healthier and my pore size is shrinking after just a couple of days use. Also, i have oily skin and for once using a moisturizer is not harming my skin! my skin looks great after using hope in a jar oil free. it doesn't make it more oily and my skin feels so soft! not tight and pulled. thank you philosophy for making an awesome product!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for great skin is in
Location:Chicago,il
age:26-30
philosophy customer for:less than one year
this was a gift:no
i love my skin!
Posted:January 31, 2012
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I bought the kit from Ulta because of their generous return policy. I am 26 with 2 kids, a lack of sleep, hormonal and I'm a smoker, so i have large pores, oily t-zone but dry everywhere else, acne, post-acne scars and smile lines. Starting with Purity cleanser, this product is gentle yet effective, the first time I used it i swept my face with my old toner to see if purity was thorough and it was, my cotton pad was clean. Next, the help me retinol night treatment. I have tried similar brands of this kind of treatment before and i love how this one absorbs. I have been using this nightly and i am very pleased. my pores & acne have shrunk!!! my skin tone is even and has a glow. in the a.m. i use when hope is not enough serum after purity which tightens my skin just enough without feeling tight or like i have a stretchy mask on. i follow the serum with hope in a jar spf which has been the only moisturizer/sunscreen that absorbs easily. at night i use standard hope is not enough and when i wake up, my skin is refreshed and hydrated! i will not be returning this to ulta as i have done with countless other products.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for great skin is in
Location:goodyear az
age:36-40
philosophy customer for:less than one year
this was a gift:no
thank you!
Posted:November 9, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
at age 36, i've been breaking out for badly for the past 4 months. I've spend so much money on numerous creams, masks, toners, gels, scrubs, you get the point. i've started becoming so embarrassed of my skin. I decided to head out to my local ulta store and i was lead over to the philosophy area. my eyes rolling, thinking "oh great, here we go" - i reluctantly listened to the sales pitch. this kit was recommended, along with the oxygen peel and the "on a clear day" facial wash. i knew i was in for a large purchase now...and though well, i really hope this works! i tried everything else - why not, hoping that this would be the end to my search in getting my nice skin back! i started my regime on sunday right when I got home. it was recommended that i do the oxygen peel 3 days in a row followed by hope in a jar oil free moisturizer - so i did yes, i did it. each morning, i have been also washing my face with the on a clear day foam and following with the hope in a jar (oil-free) moisturizer, each night i use purity cleanser, the retinol cream, followed by the hope in a jar oil free moisturizer again and i cannot believe the difference it has made. today is the 4th day and the change is more than i could've hoped for! all of the products have been great. the moisturizer, i love because my end of the day my face is normally oily and this cream really keeps it under control. as a goody, i received the microderm abrasion 2 step packets and i tried that today - i don't think i would do it often at all, but i will say my face was definitely glowing after. its a little too harsh for me right now. this is my first time using philosophy products and i hope that i have not written this review too quickly - i never write reviews, but i had to because I couldn't believe the change. i will be recommending the products to my friends and may just be having my teenage son try them. he has used proactive with no result to speak of. i actually think i will go back to the store to personally thank the woman who helped me at ulta! thank you philosophy!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for great skin is in
Location:TN
age:18-25
philosophy customer for:less than one year
this was a gift:no
i'VE FALLEN IN LOVE WITH PHILOSOPHY!
Posted:September 27, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
aT 25 I WAS STILL GETTING PRETTY REGULAR BREAKOUTS AND WAS AT MY WIT'S END AFTER TRYING NEARLY EVERY BRAND AND ACNE PRODUCT OUT THERE INCLUDING PROACTIV AND PRESCRIPTIONS. MY MOTHER TOLD ME ABOUT PHILOSOPHY AND HOW GREAT ALL THE PRODUCTS WORKED SO I DECIDED TO CHECK IT OUT. I WAS A LITTLE SKEPTICAL AND NERVOUS TO SPEND EVEN MORE MONEY TO ONLY BECOME DISAPPOINTED WITH THE RESULTS OR LACK THERE OF, LIKE I HAD BEFORE WITH OTHER PRODUCTS. BUT, I HAVE FALLEN IN LOVE WITH PHILOSOPHY AND WILL NEVER GO BACK TO ANY OTHER PRODUCTS!!!! IT IS SOOOO WORTH THE MONEY. MY SKIN HAS NEVER BEEN SOFTER, SMOOTHER AND CLEARER IN MY LIFE!!! THE PURITY MADE SIMPLE CLEANSER IS PROBABLY MY FAVORITE - IT GETS MY SKIN SO CLEAN AND MAKES IT VERY SOFT! EVEN USING THE RETINOL CREAM FOR A LITTLE SHY OF 2 WEEKS I'VE ALREADY NOTICED MY SKIN LOOKS BETTER - MY PORES ARE SMALLER, MY SKIN IS SMOOTHER AND I AM GETTING CLOSE TO BEING ABLE TO GO OUT WITHOUT MAKEUP WHICH I HAVEN'T DONE IN ABOUT 10 YEARS! THE MOISTURIZER WORKS GREAT AS WELL! I EVEN GOT "GOODIES" WHEN I ORDERED WHICH INCLUDED THE MICRODERM KIT, WHICH IS AMAZING AND WILL BE MY NEXT PURCHASE! IT MAKES YOU SKIN SOOOO SOFT! YOU GLOW AFTERWARD! I ALSO RECEIVED THE GRACE FIRMING LOTION AND THE 3-IN-1 SHAMPOO, SHOWER GEL AND BUBBLE BATH....ALL AMAZING PRODUCTS! WELL WORTH THE MONEY - YOU'LL LOVE EVERYTHING YOU PURCHASE FROM PHILOSOPHY...I KNOW I'M SOLD!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for great skin is in
Location:CA
age:26-30
philosophy customer for:3-5 years
this was a gift:no
wow what a difference
Posted:September 13, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
only been using this 1 week and my skin has improved.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for great skin is in
Location:CA
age:18-25
philosophy customer for:3-5 years
this was a gift:no
unbeatable value!
Posted:June 17, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
i used all three of these products separately when philosophy only had the makeup optional kits. all of these products are amazing! because i have breakout prone skin, i could never use hiaj. the oil free version has the same consistency as the original, works just as well, and doesn't cause me to break out. help me has completely changed the texture, tone and clarity of my skin. i've been using it for over 6 months now and i wouldn't be without it. buying this kit is like getting product for free. unbeatable value.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for great skin is in
Location:NY
age:31-35
philosophy customer for:6+ years
Posted:May 23, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
the great skin is in kit is a wonderful set for normal to oily skin. i just can't say enough about how much i love purity. over the years that i have been using it, it have used countless 32oz bottles along with the other sizes and always repurchase. the cleanser is amazing -- it's powerful enough to remove even the toughest waterproof eyeliner while never irritating my very sensitive eyes. help me is a wonderful retinol treatment that will help you maintain youthful looking skin -- or return your skin to a more youthful appearance.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for great skin is in
Location:massachusetts
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:3-5 years
this was a gift:no
UNBELIEVABLE VALUE!
Posted:April 7, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
THIS IS A WONDERFUL SKINCARE SET FOR MY COMBINATION SKIN.I TEND TO BE OILY IN THE T-ZONE AREA AND THE HOPE IN A TUBE IS PERFECT FOR ME.I USE TO USE HOPE IN A JAR,BUT IT WAS A BIT TO GREASY FOR ME. HOPE IN A TUBE IS FANTASTIC MOISTURE FOR COMBINATION SKIN,AND IS NOT GREASY.PURITY IS THE BEST CLEANSER YOU CAN BUY IN MY OPINION,IT IS GENTLE,BUT STRONG ENOUGH TO CLEANSE AWAY DIRT AND ALL YOUR MAKE-UP WITHOUT OVERDRYING. I LOVE HELP ME BECAUSE IT HAS REALLY WORKED WONDERS.MY PORES ARE SMALLER AND THE FINE LINES AROUND MY EYES ARE ALOT LESS NOTICABLE. GREAT PRODUCTS AND A SUPER VALUE!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for great skin is in
Location:FORT COLLINS, CO
age:26-30
philosophy customer for:less than one year
this was a gift:no
LOVE THIS SET!!
Posted:March 23, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS SKINCARE SET. HAVE BEEN USING FOR ABOUT A MONTH AND PLAN ON PURCHASING AGAIN AND AGAIN! THE CLEANSER IS AMAZING AND MAKES YOU FEEL 'SWEAKY CLEAN' WITHOUT FEELING DRIED OUT. THE HELPME REALLY MAKES A DIFFERENCE ON MY PORES AND IS SILKY SMOOTH. AND THE LOTION IS JUST A TINY BIT STICKY (WHICH I LIKE!) AND THE PERFECT AMOUNT OF MOISTURE. ALSO DOES A GREAT JOB AT CONTROLLING OIL. I STILL USE MY PRESCRIPTION ACNE MEDICATION FOR WHEN I GET BLEMISHES, BUT OVERALL MY SKIN LOOKS SOOOO MUCH BETTER SINCE USING THIS KIT!!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for great skin is in
Location:minnesota
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
try this set - you'll be hooked!
Posted:February 20, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
purity made simple is the best cleanser ever! it takes off all your makeup without drying your skin. it will take off all your eye makeup without burning your eyes. the help me retinol treatment gave me visible results in one week. i apply at night only where the lines and wrinkles are a problem for me. the moisturizer is hydrating yet not oily at all. will not irritate oily skin or leave you feeling like an oil slick. a good basic set for anyone with oily or problematic skin.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for great skin is in
Location:MISSION, TEXAS
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:3-5 years
this was a gift:no
excited to start my philosopy goodies!!!
Posted:February 19, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
just wanna say that i just placed my order, im really excited to start seeing results. IVE USE PHILOSOPY IN THE PAST AND WOW VERY IMPRESSED WITH RESULTS LIKE OUTSTANDING! I ORDERED MY STUFF AGAIN BECAUSE AS A MOTHER IM ALWAYS THE LAST TO BUY ME STUFF ITS ALWAYS THE KIDS OF COURSE. SO ITS MY TREAT THIS TIME SORRY GIRLS!!!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for great skin is in
Location:denver, co
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:less than one year
this was a gift:no
Outstanding set!
Posted:February 14, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
This set is not only an incredible value (Help Me alone would be $45!), but it works. Hope in a Jar Oil Free without sunscreen is awesome and has some oil-absorbing power. It also moisturizes well. I have combination skin and regular HIAJ is generally a little bit heavy for me, except in the winter. But, HIAJ Oil Free seems like it will be perfect year-round. I had never tried Help Me, but I love it! It doesn't irritate, helps with both wrinkles and pimples, and makes my skin so smooth! Purity is awesome, as always! You cannot go wrong with this set-it's like paying for Help Me, getting a $38 moisturizer for 20 bucks, and getting 8 ounces of Purity for free!!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for great skin is in
Location:Maryland
age:36-40
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:yes
perfect intro to philosophy!
Posted:January 28, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
The last time I visited my daughter, she loved all of my philosophy goodies, especially purity. She has oily skin & during the week I was there, just using purity & hope in a jar really turned her skin around. When I saw this, I purchased it & sent it to her. I just received a picture after she had been using this for 2 weeks & her skin glows! The help me is perfect for all skin types, she loves the hope for oily skin & she has her friends loving purity, too! This kit is a perfect intro to philosophy or for someone who already loves it and has oily skin. She commented that she does not wake up with an oily residue on her face anymore. Thanks, philosophy!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for great skin is in
Location:phoenix, az
age:18-25
philosophy customer for:3-5 years
this was a gift:no
  • Staff
great skin for oily skin!
Posted:January 17, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
every now and then, my skin gets super oily. and the new hope in a jar, oil free sops up the excess oil and leaves my skin with a gorgeous matte finish. and with purity and help me included in the kit, blemishes and cleansing are taken care of as well! and you can't beat the $65 price point for these three essentials!!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.