Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at philosophy.

keep the peace

super soothing moisturizer for redness and sensitivity
Average Customer Rating:
4.279 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
5
don't just take our word for it...36 out of 4384%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for keep the peace
Review 1 for keep the peace
Location:chicago, il
age:26-30
philosophy customer for:1-2 years
this was a gift:yes
can't live without this one
Posted:June 16, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
i have crazy skin - it's sensitive, oily, breakout prone, red. i have been having really good luck with the hope oil-free spf 30 and hope in a bottle products, but i found that this sometimes left me just a little bit dried - my skin would hurt a little, and i would get some surface flakiness. usually i would just use regular hope in a jar for a couple of days and that would be fine, but sometimes regular hope in a jar would break me out (truly!). sooo, this lotion is an absolute lifesaver. i alternate days with this and my usual hope in a bottle routine, and not only do i not have any more problems with flakiness or pain, but most of my redness is gone too! (i get redness in my cheeks and on my nose - comes with being porcelain skinned!)
the scent is pretty much nonexistant, and the lotion is absorbed very easily into the skin. it's not a mousse or whipped texture like hope in a jar; it's more of a regular lotion texure, but it's still very lightweight. no breakouts from this either!
i really love this lotion - and the whole keep the peace line. it makes a lovely supplement to the routine aleady use - using all of these products addresses all my sensitivity needs.
on a last note, it doesn't make my skin oily, even though i tend on the oily side. if i use this and the spf20 primer over it, i have no oil problems whatsoever! :)
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for keep the peace
Location:gonzales ranch nm
age:31-35
philosophy customer for:less than one year
this was a gift:yes
Melts on. it's wonderful!
Posted:April 9, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
i was actually searching frantically for a good facial moisturizer when i recieved this as a gift (i love hope in a jar but not the smell, although i still use it after my vitamin c peel each week. guilty as charged!). my allergies were also acting up and i had a mild dermatitis, so my face was red and splotchy. i am very picky about my moisturizers as my skin is very sensitive, and dries easily despite being oily in the t-zone. this moisturizer is very soothing to the skin, it melts on like hope in the jar, and leaves your skin super smooth and soft like a baby's bottom. the scent is very pleasant; it is light and mild, natural, and very pleasant (similar to camphor but extremely toned down). the redness in my face is gone (depsite my allergies still acting up) and it is no longer splotchy. my face is not dry or oily throughout the day either. (i have been using the entire keep the peace line; the protective color corrector spf 20 i use during the day and this moisturizer i use at night). thank you so much philosophy for making this product line! it is absolutely wonderful and i no longer have to search for a good moisturizer...i have found a GREAT one!!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for keep the peace
Location:richmond, va
age:26-30
philosophy customer for:3-5 years
this was a gift:no
eek!
Posted:April 6, 2011
Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
I have been struggling with blemishes lately and have been using a strong topical prescribed by my dermatologist. I have pink undertones anyway, but my prescription cream tends to exacerbate the redness and make my skin super dry so when I saw this product i got really excited! i carefully checked the ingredients to see if there was anything in here that would make me breakout or raise any flags... looked good to me! i tried it yesterday morning and at first i thought it felt kind of thick and greasy, but thought it would just melt into my skin and work it's magic. within 60 seconds my face was beet red, burning, and hot to the touch! within another minute my face started becoming scaly, and I quickly washed it off. a day later my face is still peeling. my skin is pretty hardy and i've never reacted to any product like that before. i'm pretty surprised, since i've used and loved other philosphy products without any problems. like i said, my skin isn't normally reactive so i'm not sure what's up.... i'm sure it can work for other people, but maybe you want to try it out in the store first before you buy?!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for keep the peace
Location:Cambridge, MA
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:yes
FEELS GOOD BUT CAUSES PROBLEMS
Posted:May 3, 2011
Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
I LOVE HOW LIGHT AND SOOTHING THIS CREAM FEELS GOING ON. SADLY, IT CAUSES ME TO BREAK OUT (GOT A NASTY CYSTIC PIMPLE EACH TIME I TRIED IT), AND THIS DOWNSIDE IS TOO BIG TO IGNORE.
I HAD THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THE KEEP THE PEACE COLOR CORRECTOR AND THE MIRACLE WORKER MOISTURIZER. ALL THREE HAVE ONE OR MORE TYPES OF DIMETHICONE CLOSE TO THE TOP OF THEIR INGREDIENT LISTS, AND THE MIRACLE WORKER CREAM CONTAINS CORN OIL, AND BOTH KEEP THE PEACE PRODUCTS CONTAIN SOY STEROLS, WHICH ARE ALL NO-NOS FOR ME. I SUSPECT IT IS THE HIGH CONCENTRATION OF DIMETHICONE WHICH IS THE BIGGEST PROBLEM FOR ME.
IF YOU ARE SENSITIVE TO DIMETHICONE, YOU MIGHT WANT TO LOOK INTO THE SERUM AND MASK INSTEAD. i love the keep the peace serum which is dimethicone-, soy- and corn-free and is my new favorite moisturizing treatment. I FIND I CAN ALSO SAFELY USE THE KEEP THE PEACE MASK WHICH IS DIMETHICONE-FREE EVEN THOUGH IT CONTAINS SOY STEROLS, SINCE THE SOY INGREDIENT IS MUCH FURTHER DOWN THE INGREDIENTS LIST FOR THE MASK, PLUS I WASH THE PRODUCT OFF AFTER ABOUT 10 MINUTES.
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for keep the peace
Location:ARlington, tx
age:36-40
philosophy customer for:less than one year
this was a gift:no
Worth every penny!
Posted:March 25, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I just started using philosophy this week, and I started with this product. It healed my skin in TWO days! As I was smoothing it on my skin, the stinging and itching were immediately soothed--that quickly! after using it again the second night, I woke up to find that all redness and flaking were gone, too! In two days, my skin was as soft, smooth and clear as it had ever been. I wish I'd had this years ago! I even left the house without makeup for the first time in years! It feels amazing. This is so much better than a trip to the dermatologist's office with much better results, too...
I find it richer than Hope in a jar so I'll save it for nighttime use since my combination skin tends to be a little oily at times. This would be perfect for anyone with sensitive skin, rosacea, psoriasis, windburn, sunburn, or anything that makes your skin inflamed, itching, or stinging.
Thank you, philosophy! I became a loyal client for life when I opened the lid of this one little jar...
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for keep the peace
Location:illinois
age:31-35
philosophy customer for:3-5 years
this was a gift:no
Happy
Posted:March 17, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I must say Philosophy is a hit and miss with me. sometimes I love or hate beyond belief the item i purchased. I did not like any other moisturizer or make up piece i have used before from here. for almost a year i only purchased the lipshines and body washes.(which i Love) I have sensitive skin and am always searching for a new moisturizer for my dry sensitive skin.
when i saw this i thought hmmm maybe i will give philosophy another shot with there skin care line.
I am so glad i did! this stuff is wonderfull and resonably priced. it was almost like a miracle for me. After the first application i noticed a differance instantly! no stinging or itching. within a few hours my redness was dimmer. I made my husband put some on his neck where he had a few razor burn marks and he to had a dramatic change in the redness! I am going to purchase the serum now. Thanks philosophy for creating a great moisturizer! You have won me back!!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for keep the peace
Location:Ohio
age:36-40
philosophy customer for:1-2 years
this was a gift:yes
Super soothing on skin- a dream for sensitive skin
Posted:March 27, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I got this as a wonderful gift from Philosophy- I must say what a great gift to have my skin care concerns solved. I have combo skin, with a tendency for oily t zone and redness in the cheeks. I have tried various philosophy moisturizers and none in my opinion came close to this. I have tried HIAB, Hiaj, miracle worker, hope oil free- they all were either too oily or would cause a red, burning sensation. The moisturizer went on like hiaj, without the smell, and did not burn or irritate my skin. The only thing that would make this even better is if it contained spf.If you have sensitive skin and have had burning, irritation with the other moisturizers give this product a try, it just might be your skin care answer too.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for keep the peace
Location:NY
age:31-35
philosophy customer for:6+ years
Posted:April 12, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
keep the peace really is a super soothing moisturizer! i've been using all of the products in this skin care line for 2 weeks and can see a difference in my skin already. today my skin is radiant, happy, healthy, and calm with much less redness issues.
i have experienced allergic reactions to many skin care and cosmetic products in the past so i'm always a bit concerned when i try something new on my face. absolutely no issues here!
the texture is light and almost gel-like when you apply it so my skin absorbed it quickly without leaving behind any residue or stickiness. i've never experienced any breakouts with this products -- another issue for me when i change skin care.
keep the peace is my new favorite!!!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for keep the peace
Location:Toledo, OHio
age:18-25
philosophy customer for:6+ years
Worth your money
Posted:May 2, 2012
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I have eczema and I can not put my ecezema cream on my face. This product is amazing. keep the peace and hope in the jar are the only products that keep my face moisterized all day. the difference between this producted and hope and a jar is, keep the peace is a little thicker (not too thick) and it helps more with redness which if you itch your face a lot like I do than this can come in handy when you scratch your face and make it red. your makeup will never look good untill your face is moisterized. This product will keep your face looking and feeling fresh all day. Thank you philosophy. I cannot thank you excellent staff enough for saving me of embarrasment of my face issues every day. Thank you!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for keep the peace
Location:charlotte, nc
age:31-35
philosophy customer for:less than one year
this was a gift:no
now my favorite moisturizer!
Posted:December 19, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
the best way I can describe is halfway between hope in a jar and the oil free hope in a jar. the regular hope in a jar is great in winter and fall and the oil free for spring and summer, but the keep the peace is a perfect balance for me. my skin is medium dark (african american) combination with dry and oily places. i periodically get itchy, red patches and itchy red cystic acne and had been using the ktp serum with great success and couldn't wait to try the moisturizer. I am very pleased with the result and use it alone or after the ktp serum. one warning, my cream was a disconcerting cafe au lait color (used to white creams) so don't be surprised!
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for keep the peace
Location:INDIANA
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
great for sensitive skin!
Posted:March 27, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I HAVE AGING, DRY, SENSITIVE SKIN (48 YRS. OLD). i HAVE BEEN USING HIAJ FOR YEARS, AND RECENTLY ADDED MIRACLE WORKER TO MY NIGHTIME ROUTINE. I'VE ALWAYS USED HIAJ FOR DAYTIME MOISTURIZATION, BUT SOMETIMES MY SKIN WILL GET SPLOTCHY AND RED WHEN I USE IT. I ORDERED KEEP THE PEACE MOISTURIZER AND IT IS EXACTLY WHAT MY SKIN NEEDS. IT KEEPS THE REDNESS AT BAY, FEELS SOOTHING, AND IS HELPING MOISTURIZE MY SKIN. i USE THIS AS A DAYTIME MOISTURIZER NOW, AND AM USING MIRACLE WORKER AT NIGHT. I HOPE THIS PRODUCT IS SOON OFFERED IN THE LARGER SIZES. THANK YOU, THANK YOU, PHILOSOPHY FOR DEVELOPING THIS AWESOME PRODUCT!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for keep the peace
Location:western ny
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:yes
very nice!
Posted:April 9, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I have been using this entire line for almost 2 weeks now. I am very very happy with this moisturizer. it's "juicey"! it's thicker than hope in a jar but just as light going on the skin. Closer in consistancy to the miracle worker. that being said, it is not greasy or heavy on the skin at all. i have oily sensitive skin as well as roscea. i absolutely did find that the redness in my cheeks is much much better. my skin feels hydrated but not oily at all. it's smooth and soft to the touch. i've been using it both a.m and p.m right now. big thank you philosophy for sending this great new line to me!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for keep the peace
Location:Washington state
age:36-40
philosophy customer for:less than one year
this was a gift:no
Love it!
Posted:May 16, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
i purchased keep the peace cream and i am in love with my skin. i purchased this a while back but decided to wait to make sure i used it long enough to write an effective review. when i first started using his my skin felt overly sensitive but later adjusted and now my skin feels and looks amazing. My skin feels so soft and smooth and I see a that my pores have gotten smaller (I am also using purity, supernatural, keep the peace color corrector and this keep the peace cream so it is most likely a collaboration of all the products). I love, love, love it!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for keep the peace
Location:Texas
age:36-40
philosophy customer for:3-5 years
this was a gift:no
uh oh!
Posted:April 17, 2011
Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
This did not work for me, i had one of the worst reactions i've ever had. within minutes of applying, my face burned, was hot to the touch, and turned so red. i quickly tried to wash it off, but the burning and redness is still lingering. i have had products in the past that are for sensitive skin cause a reaction, but i had read the ingredients in keep the peace and could not see anything that would cause such a reaction. I would recommend trying a sample and applying to a very small area first before putting it all over your face like i did.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for keep the peace
Location:Georgia
age:31-35
philosophy customer for:6+ years
It doesn't do anything, and that's good
Posted:April 5, 2012
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I decided to use this for a while before posting because my skin is so sensitive, oily and acne-prone. I found myself thinking that it didn't really seem to do anything and then realized that is actually a good thing. This did not cause me to break out or cause any redness in my skin. I find I need more moisture in the winter time, but this is great for my skin during warmer weather. don't expect this to provide sunscreen or anti-aging benefits, but if you want something basic and gentle this could be a good fit.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for keep the peace
Location:Tulsa, ok
age:31-35
philosophy customer for:3-5 years
this was a gift:yes
noticed a difference within five minutes!
Posted:September 18, 2012
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I used this moisturizer and could actually WATCH the redness and rashy bumps leave my face! I put this on right before i ran to the car to leave for work. i'm sure those driving around me were concerned because i was busy watching my skin clear and improve in my rear-view mirror! it was this fast and this noticeable! this is a miracle product for anyone that has sensitive skin! i also have oily skin and this doesn't over-do the moisture either. my skin just feels so soft, smooth, and no more pain! yay!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for keep the peace
Location:South Florida
age:51-60
philosophy customer for:6+ years
soothing and super moisturizing
Posted:March 29, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
this moisturizer is terrific.
my skin loves it, drinks it right in with no problems. i love the rich texture (it's richer than HIAJ or miracle worker), and it provides more benefits and looks better than the natural brands i sometimes use.
it's super moisturizing, makes my pores look teeny, and makes my face look radiant and soft and smooth to the touch. it actually feels soothing. and i love that you can use it day or night or both.
thanks, philosophy. this is a home run!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for keep the peace
age:31-35
philosophy customer for:1-2 years
perfectly peaceful!
Posted:April 15, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
thank you, philosophy, for making this moisturizer! i have sensitive, yet dry skin. most moisturizers help my with the dry skin, but i am often left with red splotches, hives, or breakouts. i have been using this moisturizer for almost 2 weeks now and i have seen an improvement in the dryness and redness and have not had any issues with breakouts, oiliness, hives, etc. i also love the light, whipped texture and the way the lotion sinks immediately into the skin.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for keep the peace
Location:albany, ny
age:26-30
philosophy customer for:1-2 years
this was a gift:no
balances any redness or irritation
Posted:June 16, 2012
Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
i use 3 philosophy moisturizers - hope in a jar oil free most often, and keep the peace and take a deep breath occasionally. what i like about keep the peace is that it absorbs very well and quickly. sometimes my skin can have a slight sheen/shine after moisturizing, but not with keep the peace - i look more matte. i like to use this product when i seem to have any slight redness or irritation, because it helps to balance my skin.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for keep the peace
age:51-60
philosophy customer for:3-5 years
TRY IT BEFORE YOU BUY IT
Posted:April 7, 2011
Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
lIKE SOME OTHER USERS, I STRUGGLE WITH SENSITIVITY AND REDNESS AND SINCE OTHER pHILOSOPHY PRODUCTS WORK FOR ME i THOUGHT THIS WOULD BE GREAT. nOT TRUE, MY FACE WAS BURNING ONCE i PUT THE MOISTURIZER ON MY FACE AND TURNED RED, WHICH IS WHAT i WAS TRYING TO PREVENT, i HAD TO SEND BACK. I TOO READ ALL THE INGREDIENTS PRIOR TO USING AND COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING THAT i WOULD HAVE A REACTION TO SINCE i USE mIRACLE WORKER PRODUCTS.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>