Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at philosophy.

you are divine

spray fragrance
Average Customer Rating:
4.045 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
2
don't just take our word for it...17 out of 2277%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for you are divine
Review 1 for you are divine
age:under 18
philosophy customer for:1-2 years
gorgeous new fragrance...absolutely divine!
Posted:August 25, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I'm absolutely in love with "you are divine". philosophy has always been my favorite fragrance brand. i've tried (and own) "baby grace", "amazing grace", and "pure grace", all of which I adore. "you are divine" is nothing like the graces. it does not have the soapy element like the graces do. it is more complex, even in the packaging (as compared to the graces, which are all rather simple, but lovely).
"you are divine" is very sophisticated. it's alluring. it's warm. it's elegant and feminine and classy. when I put it on it makes me feel beautiful, even if i'm only wearing old sweats. it's the kind of fragrance that makes you feel like you're wearing that perfect little black dress (or as stated on the packaging, classic pearl earrings) and really boosts your confidence.
"you are divine" definitely smells more mature, but not old. it can easily be worn by any age. it's like any of the graces i've tried: completely ageless. plus, i've received tons of complements already from men and women of various age groups.
the smell is sweet, but not sickly. "baby grace" is innocently sweet. "you are divine" is more of sophisticated sweet, but still manages to not be over-powering. it's slightly powdery and I can smell a hint of citrus, but I mainly detect a rich floral. it’s stronger than the graces and has better lasting power too.
the packaging is very lovely! it's much fancier than the graces. The box is a shimmery gold. if given as a gift, the wrapping would already be done for you. the bottle is just under five and a half inches or fourteen centimeters tall. the gold cap has a gold bow with a shimmery paper circle that reads "philosophy". The bottle is clear with "you are divine" printed in gold, as well as "philosophy" towards the bottom portion. and it’s nice for my perfume bottle to tell me “you are divine”. it puts a smile on my face.
this perfume is appropriate for a nice dinner, work, night time, day time, and really just any time in my opinion. although i picture it more as a special occasion fragrance (i think of the graces more of everyday fragrances), i won't be using mine just for special days! it makes me too happy. (I even put a tad on before I got to bed.)
I would highly recommend “you are divine” to anyone. it’s absolutely gorgeous and I’m in love with it. I can already tell this certainly won’t be my last bottle of this beautiful perfume!
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for you are divine
Location:boone, nc
age:18-25
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
can't wait to buy this!
Posted:September 4, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I received a sample and it really is just as amazing as everyone says! such a beautiful, soft, and warm scent for fall!
it smells very similar to summer grace, but changed just enough to give it a warm and soft presence. once the top citrus and floral notes dry, it smells a little more powdery and warm. it's incredible! it also lasted - i put it on my wrists as soon as i got the package in the morning and later that night when i was getting into bed, i thought "what smells good?" and realized it was my wrists! they still smelled amazing :) if you love summer grace, i bet you'll love this too!
but don't get me wrong, this is absolutely not overpowering or strong. it is definitely a philosophy scent! so it is subtle and becomes a part of you. it's very personal and close just like all their other scents, but again, it lasts all day long. My boyfriend loved it too, he begged me to purchase it right away!
i was debating buying it because i bought the 4oz summer grace which is still pretty full. I'm a poor grad student :) so i have to be careful with money, and i was thinking i would just use summer grace throughout the fall and forgo this amazing scent.
umm...i don't think that is possible! i could not stop smelling myself, i was most certainly in love! so i am afraid i will have to make an exception and just add this to my fragrance wardrobe :) what a wonderful addition to that and what an incredible addition to the philosophy line! looking forward to the layering products as well!
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for you are divine
Location:SF bay area, ca
age:36-40
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:yes
overbearing and musky
Posted:March 2, 2012
Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
i received this as a gift, but even after attempting to wear it a fair number of times, i gave up since i just couldn't get past the musky scent.
the initial scent reminds me of ground pepper. it turns spicy fast, and gets even worse with the addition of musky, woodsy notes. the spice notes fade a bit when it finally dries down, but then I start to smell a powder note. perhaps it was meant to soften the scent, but it ended up making the overall scent feel very old and mature. quite bluntly, it was terribly stinky and off-putting ... fragrances should not smell like a musty old closet!
i was never able to detect the soft fresh or floral notes, or vanilla notes that others talked about, maybe because i couldn't get past all the musk!
normally i would not complain about a scent lingering, but when that scent is so bad, and it won't go away, all you begin to think about is how much you desperately want to wash it off!
you are divine seems to be a radical departure from the lovely fresh and clean, and soft and floral fragrances philosophy is known for. interestingly, my husband mentioned that he would not have been able to identify this as a philosophy fragrance if i had not told him.
if i smelled or spritzed on a bit of "you are divine" at the fragrance counter, i would definitely not purchase it. i prefer the clean, fresh and soft scents and "you are divine" is just too reminiscent of the heavy musky fragrance from the 80's.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for you are divine
Location:Buffalo, NY
age:51-60
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
disappointed
Posted:October 27, 2011
Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
I received a sample of this and glad i did not spend the money on the full size and waited to try it. when i tried this i actually got so ill and nauseated. this has never happened to me with a fragrance, and there was some note in this that just didn't agree with me. at first it is very strong, then it does dry down to some powdery and deep, floral musky notes and lasted a long time on my skin....too long! i could not wait to wash this off me, and i could still smell it. this is very rare for me to not like a philosophy fragrance, but this one is just not for me. it reminded me of your typical dept store strong fragrance that there are so many of. this is nothing like the graces that are clean, fresh, and soft florals. to me this is in a whole different category than what philosophy is known for....their dislike for the "elevator" fragrance that they always talk about, well to me this is an elevator fragrance, it arrives before you do. i'm hoping this is not the new route philosophy has taken with their fragrances, the strong, heady, sickening fragrances that you can buy anywhere today. i'm hoping they stick with the clean, fresh, crisp, soft florals that they are known for. this to me is a different branch of philosophy, but i will stick with the tried and true grace fragrance line.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for you are divine
Location:Bismarck, nd
age:36-40
philosophy customer for:3-5 years
this was a gift:yes
this isn't for me but its my mom's new favorite
Posted:February 11, 2012
Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
I received a bottle of this fragrance and thought it was nice but just not for me (i am head over heels for unconditional love and rarely use anything else). but, my mom was staying with me when the fragrance arrived & she loved, loved, loved it. she is exceptionally picky about fragrances & won't even sample them on her skin in department stores. but, she sprayed herself literally from head to toe with this fragrance the very first time she smelled it which was absolutely shocking for her-especially since she was in her pajamas and had to sleep with the fragrance on. she used it all weekend and told me over & over how much she loved it so i sent it home with her. she's had it in her suitcase every time she's returned to visit since then and wanted to make sure that i posted a great review of the fragrance on this website (i only gave it 4 stars because its not my personal favorite but i know that she'd advocate for 5 stars). its got a nice mix of floral and citrus & my mom says she thinks its a bit of a cross between lacoste & clinique happy.
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for you are divine
age:31-35
philosophy customer for:less than one year
simply divine darling...
Posted:August 24, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I really like it! divine is slighty citrus at first, but then dries down to a very light, delicate floral with a teensy bit of vanilla to warm it up. It's not musky at all. divine lasts all day... i could still smell it on me hours later, which is great because some fragrances don't have staying power... but it is not overpowering, just soft and divine... i have allergies to most fragrances and philosophy is the only thing i can wear... i was a little worried that this "new" fragrance would be a problem for my allergies, but philosophy didn't disappoint! divine stays true to philosophy's concept of wearable fragrances that are never overpowering... divine would make a wonderful gift because it packaged so beautifully and it is a fragrance that all women would like... some women like wearing fragrance by seasons, and I could see divine being a fragrance I'd like to wear going into the fall and then also in the winter because it has a warmness to it that is very alluring... it's kind of sexy too... my husband loves it!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for you are divine
Location:madison wi
age:36-40
philosophy customer for:1-2 years
this fragrance is divine!
Posted:August 26, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I had to try this right out of the box, and fell in love with it immediately.
The scent is: powdery with undertones of orange citrus and spice, followed by a sweet floral undernote. It's soft and pretty and sophisticated all at the same time. it's got glamor and style. it's mild like amazing grace or pure grace but kicked up a notch.
this scent lasts and lasts and lasts...
This is light enough to be worn to work in jobs where you have to be around people, but classy and cool enough to wear out in the evenings. very versatile fragrance and I love it.
I got very positive comments on this fragrance four hours after I put it on. my husband likes it, my son loves it, and more importantly, I love it.
the packaging is beautiful. the glass bottle is substantial and weighted at the bottom for easy standing up. the spray works great and the ribbon and medallion are a nice touch.
divine new fragrance, philosophy. I will be buying this again and wearing it all season long.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for you are divine
Location:western ny
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:yes
oh my! just divine!!
Posted:August 26, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I couldn't get on here fast enough to review this product that I just received today! I truly didn't think philosophy could come out with yet another fragrance that i would be over the moon about but they did!! "you are divine". this may just become my #1 favorite. amazing has been my 1st with inner grace a close 2nd. But this! this is soft....it has a lovely soothing powder scent with a touch of citrus. it is divine!! philosophy has stayed true to their line and it is still a clean scent as all their fragrances are. I'm sitting here and i keep smelling it and i wish i could describe more. all i can tell you is that it is a soft, clean powdery scent. love it. i can't wait for spritz, lotion and shower gel/cream!!! i want to imerse myself in this from head to toe! Thank you philosophy! keep up the amazing work you do and the great love and care you give to all your customers. your company is top notch which is why all your products are a success!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for you are divine
Location:portland, or
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:yes
divine is the perfect scent for fall...
Posted:August 30, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I was one of the VERY lucky philosophy girls to receive a bottle of divine from philosophy. I really LOVE IT!!! It goes on citrusy and strong (which was a bit scary at first because I can't wear strong citrus or floral scented fragrances) but, it dries down to a soft powdery scent with just a hint of floral. so pretty!! (some reviewers smell vanilla, I don't) to those wondering if it lasts--it DEFINITELY DOES!!! it's one of those scents where you keep thinking Wow! something really smells good--then you realize, it's you!!! In my opinion, if you loved summer grace (I do!), you'll love divine! it's like summer grace dressed for fall! I can't wait for the rest of the line to come out so I can layer!!
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for you are divine
Location:Kentucky
age:18-25
philosophy customer for:3-5 years
this was a gift:yes
This is Perfect
Posted:August 24, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
What a pleasant surprise finding this at my door steps today. This fragrance is very different from anything that I have tried before from philosophy. It is more of a perfume like smell than amazing grace, or pure grace, but it still has that soft whispery-ness that philosophy is famous for. This fragrance is very elegant, sophisticated, and very feminine. There is a floral smell to it, but it isn’t an overpowering floral. The name is perfect because when you wear it you feel divine. The bottle and packaging is also very nice. It would make a wonderful gift. I cannot thank philosophy enough for this wonderful perfume. I will be wearing this all fall and winter long!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for you are divine
Location:San Diego, ca
age:31-35
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:yes
floral, but not overpowering
Posted:September 9, 2011
Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
i was also one of the lucky ladies who received this from philosophy! thanks philosophy! as for the scent, it is definitely floral and powdery. it goes on strong, but dries down nicely. i can smell something sweet - possibly vanilla - after it dries down. i am not completely sold on this yet. i didn't have that feeling like when i first tried amazing grace (my all-time favorite). i also love baby grace and summer grace, but not so much eternal grace. i will keep trying this and i am looking forward to the shower gel and lotion for layering to see if that changes my mind! thanks again to philosophy for taking care of their long-time customers!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for you are divine
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:3-5 years
this was a gift:yes
Beautiful new scent
Posted:August 27, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I was thrilled that philosophy sent me a surprise of their new fragrance divine. I enjoy their fragrances very much, so i couldn't wait to try this one! it's definitely different than any of their other fragrances, which is exciting, because philosophy has created so many beautiful beloved scents.
divine is a warm, citrus, soft powdery scent with light floral notes. it reminds me of one of the graces, yet warmer and more sophisticated. this scent is also long lasting, yet not overpowering. divine is a perfect addition to my philosophy fragrance wardrobe and i'm enjoying wearing it every day. thank you philosophy!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for you are divine
Location:NY
age:31-35
philosophy customer for:6+ years
Posted:September 6, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
you are divine is very different from any of philosophy's other fragrances (past and present) and it would be impossible to make a comparison. You are divine is uniquely her own being!
this fragrance is a sophisticated, warm, and rich fragrance that is perfect for fall and winter. you will notice the citrus, floral, and a hint of musk. On me the scent last all day and then some.
My husband is crazy about this scent and I've heard others mention men loving it too.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for you are divine
Location:GRAND RAPIDS, MI
age:51-60
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
my new favorite!
Posted:September 6, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I've always been a philosophy girl and didn't think your fragrances could get better. My old favorites are amazing grace (of course) and inner grace. this one beats even those two hands down. It's timeless, seasonless and my husband adores it. It is more floral, but so gentle. It is elegant and sensual at the same time. even my 1 year old grandson seemed to like it as he buried his head in my neck. I hope this is not a limited edition!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for you are divine
Location:indiana
age:36-40
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:yes
not sold on this one!
Posted:October 18, 2011
Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
This frangrance is very strong when it's first sprayed, which i wasn't expecting and didn't care for, but it dried down to a soft scent that i was really starting to like and then just disappeared super quick. it's nothing like the other philosophy scents. i feel like it's actually more of something you could buy cheaply from a drugstore. it didn't feel fresh and clean like i've come to expect from philosophy.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for you are divine
Location:portland, or
age:26-30
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:yes
My new fav.
Posted:August 27, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I wasn't sure what to expect when I first opened the box but I was very pleased from first sniff! It's soft, sophisticated and ladylike. It reminds me of a softer version of victorias secret heavenly, which I like but can't wear during warmer months because it's so heavy. This is light enough for every day and I've carried it in my purse and used it every day since receiving it. Thank you philosophy!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for you are divine
Location:Blacksburg, va
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:yes
this is devine!
Posted:August 25, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I just received this gift from philosophy. i could not wait to try it. as it says, it is not anything like any of the other philosophy fragrances. to me, it comes across as mostly "powdery" with a hint of citrus and just a touch of floral.
This is a lovely new addition to the fragrance line. can't wait to see what friends have to say about it. love it!
thank you, philosophy, for the lovely surprise.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for you are divine
Location:Denver, colorado
age:18-25
philosophy customer for:1-2 years
this was a gift:no
Different and nice
Posted:December 1, 2011
Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
i received a sample of this fragrance in the mail with a purchase and I enjoyed it so much i purchased a bottle of it. it is different from other philosophy fragrances but it a good way. the scent is stronger-but not overpowering-and has good staying power. its a warm fragrance that i think is best to wear out or on special events.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for you are divine
Location:Los angeles,ca
age:26-30
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:yes
unlike any of the others
Posted:November 19, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
i received this one as a gift and i must say it was a great suprise.
i actually like the fact that its different. it feels a little more sophisticated than all the other philosophy fragrances. it has a citrusy at first yet dies to a nice subtle powdery scent. i really like!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for you are divine
Location:California
age:31-35
philosophy customer for:6+ years
Not one of my favorites
Posted:September 9, 2011
Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
I was so excited to try this fragrance but it just isn't for me. i am an amazing grace and falling in love girl. the divine fragrance is more of a traditional fragrance and doesn't have than "clean" note,
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>