Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at philosophy.

never let them see you shine

oil and shine control velvet touch primer
Average Customer Rating:
3.958 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
don't just take our word for it...17 out of 2471%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for never let them see you shine
Review 1 for never let them see you shine
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:1-2 years
it helps
Posted:June 16, 2011
Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
I have only used this a couple days but so far I agree with the comment about wishing it was more matte. i like it enough to continue to use it though because i do think it is better than some other primers i have tried in that i don't seem to have melt down part way through the day with it. So it seems to help it is just a bit on the shiney side rather than matte.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for never let them see you shine
Location:florida
age:26-30
philosophy customer for:1-2 years
great for shine
Posted:May 15, 2011
Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
i use this everyday whether i wear makeup or not. it really controls the shine until the end of the day, which is important for me. i would actually give it 5 stars if it mattified my skin. when you put it on, your skin doesn't get any shinier or more matte. it just stays the same, and then maintains that level. why not make it have an even more matte finish?
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for never let them see you shine
Location:nashville,tn
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:1-2 years
this was a gift:no
my nose loves this!
Posted:February 16, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
In the summer my nose gets so oily you could fry an egg on it! I wouldn't want to be without this during those months. It does a GREAT job controlling oil & shine!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for never let them see you shine
Location:Plano, TX
age:31-35
philosophy customer for:less than one year
this was a gift:no
Love it!!!!
Posted:February 10, 2011
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Went through all the primers in saphora, this was the best. I did get alittle grease but it was the best out of all. Please do not discontinue this product... I just found you after a very long search;)
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for never let them see you shine
Location:western ny
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:6+ years
STILL OILY
Posted:December 4, 2010
Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
I WAS REALLY HOPING THIS WOULD HELP CONTROL THE OIL IN MY T-ZONE BUT IT DIDN'T. WHEN FIRST APPLIED IT REALLY FELT AS IF IT WAS GOING TO DO THE TRICK BUT WITHIN A FEW HOURS THE OIL SLICK WAS BACK :-(
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for never let them see you shine
Location:economy, in
age:36-40
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
This is nice
Posted:November 9, 2010
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I use this on my nose and forehead, it does keep my shine down. im 40 with a very oily t zone. i use everyday and it makes my pores look smaller too.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for never let them see you shine
Location:New YORK
age:18-25
philosophy customer for:less than one year
this was a gift:no
Posted:July 2, 2010
Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
i had high hopes for this product because I've been so impressed with the purity cleanser, but this product didn't deliver the promised results. my skin produces extreme amounts of oil, and this product didn't control it for more than an hour. it also made my mineral make-up collect in my pores, and this doesn't usually happen to me with other primers. although it didn't work for me, it has been working very well for my mother who still gets oily skin even though she is in her 50's. if you are closer to a combination/oily skin type rather than an oily/super oily skin type then i think it would work well for you. despite my disapointment, i still love other products from philosophy.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for never let them see you shine
Location:San antonio, tx
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
Great if used sparingly
Posted:June 24, 2010
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I've been exploring the world of primers and when i saw this one and had to have it - I'm devoted to philosophy skin care so I figured this would be the best choice and not break my skin out. the first couple of times I tried it i had the same experience as some other posters. It seemed to make my skin more shiny rather than more matte, plus it sort of flaked up under my eyes. after playing around with it for a while and reading up on primers in general, i learned that a pea sized amount is too much. all you need is just a little dab about the size of the head of a pin, but you can add a little more if you need it. I used a very small amount and patted/pressed it on my face, concentrating on the t-zone, and then let it dry thoroughly before applying makeup. i patted my face with a clean cloth to make sure it was dry. my makeup went on like a dream - It seemed to jump off my brush and onto my skin like a magnet. I got perfect coverage with just one pass of the brush and my pores were virtually invisible. it really did control oil all day, too. i live in a hot, humid climate and I didn't need to blot or "powder my nose" even after several hours of running errands out in the heat. the best part is that my skin felt silky smooth after taking off my makeup (well, purity, help me, and hope in a tube should probably get credit for that). at any rate, i do like this product and i understand the poor results that people have mentioned. less is more with this as with most philosophy products because the formulas are so dense that a tiny amount gets the job done. remember less is more and more will just sit there on your face with nowhere to go. the key is just enough to pat a thin film on your face and let it dry completely so that your makeup has something to cling to. If you have too much on it will mix with your makeup and cause it to ball up in a very unattractive way and the excess product will just sit on your skin looking oily. this tube will probably last forever since a tiny dot does the job!
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for never let them see you shine
Location:Florida
age:18-25
philosophy customer for:3-5 years
this was a gift:yes
So disappointing
Posted:April 19, 2010
Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
I asked for this primer along with the Never let them see you shine cleanser and scrub for my birthday because I have very oily skin and was tired of having to use a compact/oil blotting papers all the time. I use the scrub in the morning, then I use the primer after I moisturize, and then I use the cleanser at night. Even after using all of the products this line has to offer, I am not getting results. My skin is as oily as ever. I wanted so much for these products to work and they just don't. Although the scrub is gentle and the cleanser leaves your skin with a refreshing cooling sensation, these products are not worth the money since they don't do the one thing they're supposed to: control oil. Sorry philosophy :-(
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for never let them see you shine
Location:Cabot, Arkansas
age:26-30
philosophy customer for:less than one year
this was a gift:no
pretty impressed
Posted:February 9, 2010
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I have been using this philosophy product longer than any other and it was because this worked so well that I began to explore the rest of philosophy. Please understand that I don't think any product can get rid of ALL shine all day but this is by far the best of probably 6-8 other products of its kind that I have tried. It also does not dry out my skin or clog my pores. One tip: I was rubbing it in for the first month I used it then I happened to read the back of the bottle. patting it in makes a difference for whatever reason. Always helps to read the directions!!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for never let them see you shine
Location:Roseville, CA
age:26-30
philosophy customer for:less than one year
this was a gift:no
minimal shine here!
Posted:January 19, 2010
Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
overall i am satisfied with this product... i have am oily t-zone and wanted to see if this product would help... it definitely kept the shine down... it didn't stop it, but it definitely decreased the shine... it also gave me a "velvet touch" to my face when it came to putting my makeup on over it... I could do without the lavender-ish smell...
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for never let them see you shine
Location:Blacksburg, va
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
no more blotting
Posted:December 19, 2009
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
i have very ioly skin, blot, blot, blotting all day because i like a matte finish. I used this and it has worked wonders. my blotting has decreased by about 80%. it is also very gentle on my sensitive skin. i love it!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for never let them see you shine
Location:Tucson az
age:36-40
philosophy customer for:3-5 years
OMG
Posted:May 13, 2009
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
The test for me was the shine degree at the end of the day, as I really don't touch up my makeup at all. This. is. the. best. stuff. ever.
There was at least 75% less shine on my face, and that's after a full day in the Arizona environment.
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for never let them see you shine
Location:neenah, wi
age:31-35
philosophy customer for:less than one year
this was a gift:no
good product
Posted:March 21, 2009
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
i have very oily acne skin and this does help with the oil i use it the on a clear day and face is acne and oil free it's a little dry but that's ok for me
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for never let them see you shine
Location:NC
age:26-30
philosophy customer for:1-2 years
Posted:January 24, 2009
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
i apply this under the supernatural makeup each morning. love the texture, and it's very effective for controlling shine.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for never let them see you shine
Location:Tulsa, ok
age:31-35
philosophy customer for:less than one year
this was a gift:no
AWFUL!!
Posted:January 6, 2009
Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
I tried to like this product, I have been so happy with everything else I have tried. unfortunately, this product made my face break out really badly and did nothing for the shine. i wore it once, put it on in the morning and that evening i went to wash my face and noticed that my face had several huge pimples coming up! i love everything i have gotten from you and it made me sad that this wasn't another product i could tout to all my friends. i see that it works well for others, but not for me. wah! =(
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for never let them see you shine
Location:Naples, Fl
age:31-35
philosophy customer for:3-5 years
this was a gift:no
flawless canvas!
Posted:December 3, 2008
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I love this product. I used to order another anti-shine for $35.00 an ounce. Can i use initials? Ptr. Now, i use this and it does an even better, yes better, job than the other. I can't thank you enough. It make my skin look matte, and my pores smaller. Thank you so much. Please, don't stop making it!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for never let them see you shine
Location:jACKSON hOLE , WYOMING
age:31-35
philosophy customer for:3-5 years
this was a gift:no
gOTTA LOVE MATTE SKIN !!
Posted:November 6, 2008
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
gREAT PRIMER LOVE IT ! i AM A HAIR MECHANIC AND I HAVE OILY SKIN AND THIS STUFF IS GREAT. i CAN GO ALL DAY WITH OUT BLOTTING MY FACE AND MY MAKEUP STAYS PUT! aWESOME i PLAN ON BUYING THIS FOR ALL MY FRIENDS WHO HAVE OILY SKIN FOR cHRISTMAS.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for never let them see you shine
Location:LOS ANGELES, ca
age:26-30
philosophy customer for:1-2 years
this was a gift:no
convertable and multi-use product for oil control
Posted:October 1, 2008
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
5 little words – my skins new best friend. This little wonder has amazing talent to help keep the oil and shine in check. It’s my convertible product that I use in 3 different ways. I use it as a primer all over to help ensure my skin looks fresh and matte- not shiny. It helps smooth and minimize my pores, fine lines and wrinkles while keeping my makeup on all day long. Lastly, I sometimes mix this with my SNAC powder ( when I want to get a creamier foundation application…and it perfect as a touch up mattifying product just where I want need to keep oil and shine at bay.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for never let them see you shine
Location:Denver, CO
age:18-25
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
Shine-free!
Posted:September 19, 2008
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
This product is great! I have slightly oily skin and my t-zone/cheeks get really shiny a few hours after doing my make up. I used this over my moisturizer and under my liquid foundation and i didn't need powder or blotting papers for touch up all day/night. Very happy w/ this primer!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>