Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at philosophy.

advanced makeup optional skincare system

skincare system for radiant, healthy, ageless skin
Average Customer Rating:
4.955 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
don't just take our word for it...22 out of 22100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for advanced makeup optional skincare system
Review 1 for advanced makeup optional skincare system
Location:Michigan
age:51-60
philosophy customer for:3-5 years
this was a gift:no
ADDICTED TO philosophy
Posted:May 11, 2010
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
My mother,sister,bestfriend,cousin and niece are all using philosophy because I saw it and ordered it from QVC. I cannot say enough good about these products ! I wish I owned a boutique where i could carry these products ! I'd never take home a pay check ! :-) Try these products you won't be sorry. I'm told all the time I don't look my age.Thank you Christine and crew at philosophy.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for advanced makeup optional skincare system
Location:buffalo, ny
age:36-40
philosophy customer for:3-5 years
this was a gift:no
great system!
Posted:May 11, 2010
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
i am really happy with this skin care system! the purity cleanser is the only one i have ever used that "washes" with water and gets every trace of make-up off my face! no more mascara marks on my towels. the microdelivery wash really smooths your skin and helps to make pores less noticeable. the serum, help me and hope in a jar are really doing their part - my skin looks and feels great and is actually glowing!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for advanced makeup optional skincare system
Location:Newark, ny
age:31-35
philosophy customer for:less than one year
this was a gift:no
AMAZING! I'm impressed!
Posted:April 8, 2010
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
i just bought the smaller size of this set a couple weeks ago and I have seen improvement already! I am very happy with these products. everything in this set works wonders! i never write a review unless i'm extremely impressed. i'm 34 and have had acne and combination skin and just blah looking skin. it has helped brighten the look of my skin as well as making those spots from zits disappear.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for advanced makeup optional skincare system
Location:Phoenix, az
age:26-30
philosophy customer for:less than one year
this was a gift:no
Wonderful product
Posted:March 2, 2010
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
This is the only online review I have ever written. I am 27 and have had mild acne resulting in scarring for the past few years. additionally, i never truly felt clean and was irritated by many over the counter products. My pores and skin discolorations forced me to begin wearing a very heavy coverage foundation, which did the job but made more tiny bumps and was hard to clean. I have been using this product for 4 weeks and absolutely love it. The cleanser is by far the best cleanser i have ever used, and don't see myself ever switching. It has eliminated the need for a make up remover, soap, and astringent/toner. The other components of the set really have helped my skin become smooth, discolorations have been reduced, break outs minimized, and I feel comfortable with a loose powder on most days! My least favorite (or hardest to get used to) component of this set was the moisturizer. Prior to this set, I used Estee lauder moisturizer - and the philosophy product seemed a bit more greasy; however, it hasn't caused any break outs and my make up still goes on smoothly. The jury is out if I will continue to use this item after my set is gone.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for advanced makeup optional skincare system
Location:Peabody ma
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:less than one year
this was a gift:yes
OMG THE BEST!!!!
Posted:February 15, 2010
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
My husband bought me this kit for Valentines Day and these are my first Philosophy proucts !! I am hooked !!Not only are the sizes you get big but they will last forever as it is true that a little goes a long way ..I am 42 but used only soap and water and that was it no skincare regime at all (YIKES i know!!) Well after one use my skin is AMAZING even my hubby commented on how radiant and beautiful I looked with NO MAKEUP on !!The free try me peel is also amazing and will last u four uses so this kit is well worth it value wise I am now hooked on Philosophy and will buy nothing but..Way to go Philosophy and my husband also !!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for advanced makeup optional skincare system
Location:Pa
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:less than one year
this was a gift:no
Love this set
Posted:February 9, 2010
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Absolutely love this set. i am 42 had oily skin with some discoloration from a couple of breakouts and sun. Used mary kay for years, also olay recently for discoloration. tried this and love it more than anything else. My spots are gone, pores are invisible,and no more oil. My skin is glowing, in just 6 weeks; love it, love it. now i will try the foundation. can't wait!!!! Philosophy is my new favorite
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for advanced makeup optional skincare system
Location:new york, ny
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:less than one year
this was a gift:yes
The BEST!!
Posted:September 27, 2009
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
This kit have helped my sun damaged skin looking much better. After using this for 6 weeks, my face has much less brown spots, smoother, radiant, and less fine lines. I'm much happier and am very pleased - I was expecting some breakouts when first using this kit but nothing so far since July. Hope in a jar spf 20 is okay, and i like hope is not enough spf 20 better. With this kit, i have been using much, much less makeup than necessary (a dab of concelear under my eyes, around my nose, and the corners of my lip, a bronzer, fix my eyebrows, mascara and a lipgloss). Thank you, philosophy!!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for advanced makeup optional skincare system
Location:Austin, tx
age:31-35
philosophy customer for:less than one year
this was a gift:no
L-o-v-e
Posted:September 10, 2009
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
this is an outstanding group of products. It promises results in 8 weeks and I have seen dramatic results in 4 weeks. Smaller pores and more skin elasticity were my concerns. Pores have been greatly reduced and there has been some improvement in skin elasticity. total must for that just in your 30's skin!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for advanced makeup optional skincare system
Location:tempe, az
age:18-25
philosophy customer for:less than one year
this was a gift:no
i'm in love
Posted:August 28, 2009
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
i am a brand new citizen of the philosophy world (3 weeks) and i decided, through some good product pushing from sephora, to start with this kit. I have pretty normal skin, i am very prone to blackheads and break out occasionally but other than that my skin is fine. this is my comprehensive breakdown of the advanced kit:
purity - best facial wash I've ever used, ever! i like the fact that it doesn't get lathery but works like a champ. removes my make-up, unclogs pores, and evens my skin tone dramatically.
hope is not enough - i am still skeptical as to whether i need this or not. i am young and don't really feel like i have problems this serum addresses. that being said, i have been using it both a.m. and p.m. (i paid for it so i might as well) and i don't know exactly what it is doing for my skin, but i know i enjoy the way my skin feels after the entire philosophy regimen so i'm going to assume this is at least playing a small part in that. when i am done with it i may not buy it again and see if my skin changes w/out it or i may buy the omega oil version. who knows, maybe using anti-aging products now will prevent the need for them in the future?
exfoliating wash - i am not a big fan of this, but i am not a fan of exfoliating scrubs in general. the feeling of granules being rubbed across my face just seems too harsh even if they really aren't. so i may start using this once a week or just not use it at all.
help me - as with the firming serum i feel that the anti-aging aspects don't apply to me but i do like the claim that i will smoothen skin and keep pores clean (good for those pesky blackheads). i also don't know the effect this has on my skin but i'm going to use it till it's gone, then maybe try the regimen without it for a couple weeks and if i need it again i can always repurchase it.
hope in a jar - i like the spf because i don't need to worry about always having something on over it. the smell is not my favorite and immediately after i apply it my face looks shiny (as when i put on regular sunscreen) but after a few minutes it looks fine. i am currently debating between switching to the one for sensitive skin or using hope in a bottle instead to see if my skin will react better to it
eye hope - the first day i used it a guy at work complimented me on how bright eyed i looked that morning. so i may purchase the full bottle now that my sample is gone
the peel - i used the peel for the first time tonight and immediately when i was done i could see and feel the difference on my skin. it's amazing. i like how simple it was to apply and how i didn't have to massage it very long (because as i mentioned earlier i hate the rough feeling on my skin) i may use this once a week and kick the exfoliating wash out of my regimen completely. i think exfoliating too often may be detrimental rather than beneficial, i very well could be wrong though.
in summary: in the past i have used everything from chemical "dr." products such as dermalogica to l'occitane organic and i have never felt that my money has been well spent until now. i love purity, eye hope, and the peel. i could go without the exfoliating wash. and i don't know if help me or when hope is not enough is beneficial to me. i hope this has helped.
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for advanced makeup optional skincare system
age:18-25
philosophy customer for:1-2 years
I love it!!!
Posted:August 11, 2009
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
great set. I have very good skin but still use these products everyday. Moisturizer a little bit oily for me. It makes my skin shiny(not a good thing). Purity is a perfect cleaner.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for advanced makeup optional skincare system
Location:gastonia, nc
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:less than one year
this was a gift:no
THIs kit is Awesome!!!!!!!!
Posted:August 3, 2009
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I've never written a review, but i just had to say something about this kit. I have oily skin with large pores, and had given up on those large pores ever looking any different. I've tried most of the gimics out there, promising to decrease pore size. Nothing ever worked.....until now. honestly, my skin has never looked this good. those pores are never going to go totally away, but they are significantly smaller. the texture of my skin is totally different. my husband and i were cuddling last night and he said my face was so soft....haven't heard that in years! the name fits this kit. i'm wearing less makeup than ever, because my skin looks that good. don't hesitate to buy this kit. it is wonderful!!!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for advanced makeup optional skincare system
Location:minnesota
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:6+ years
awesome basics
Posted:August 1, 2009
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
this set is great for skin care basics. i use the microdelivery cleanser in the morning and purity at night. i use the moisturizer with spf in the morning under any makeup i may (or may not need to) wear. the serum is heavenly - i love this stuff! and retinol i use at night and am very addicted to now. This makes a great gift for anyone - especially yourself!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for advanced makeup optional skincare system
Location:Raleigh
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:less than one year
this was a gift:no
a great way to start
Posted:July 26, 2009
Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
I was introduced to this line by a friend who gave me a sample for my 40th birthday. So glad she did! I ordered this set and have been using it for a week. I am especially impressed with the exfoliating cleanser and SPf cream. I read lots of reviews before ordering and was worried about the spf cream. I love it! shipping is a bit slow-something to keep in mind if you are running low on a product. overall-this is a great intro to the line and worth the money.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for advanced makeup optional skincare system
Location:Tulsa, ok
age:31-35
philosophy customer for:1-2 years
this was a gift:no
great value and great products!
Posted:July 23, 2009
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I can't say enough good things about purity, it is my go-to cleanser. i have extremely sensitive skin and am allergic to just about everything. i used to have to take pain killers a half hour to an hour before i would wash my face because it hurt so bad. with purity my skin feels wonderful and no more pain! yahoo! the microdelivery wash is another favorite of mine. i mix it with the purity when i wash my face morning and night and that has taken care of the blackheads i've had for 20 years on my nose and chin. the hope in a jar with spf was strange at first, but now i love it. the consistency is different than the regular hope in a jar, but it soaks right in and doesn't leave a funky residue on my oily skin. the help me is also wonderful. i went without it for a few weeks because i was lazy and just wanted to wash my face and go to bed. i noticed that my face had gotten dull and almost gray looking. i used the help me again two days in a row and wala! back to glowing, rosy skin!
the kit i ordered did not have the firming serum so i can't speak to that, but i've heard wonderful things about it and have ordered it separately.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for advanced makeup optional skincare system
Location:ohio
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:less than one year
this was a gift:no
best kit around!
Posted:July 11, 2009
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
this kit has absolutely everything in it for makeup optional skin. every product is a winner! within days of using this kit i saw an incredible difference in my skin! the eye cream really blew me away. i had 3 lines at the corners of each eye & two are completely gone & the other one is on it's way. i will never be without these products!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for advanced makeup optional skincare system
Location:Little Rock, AR
age:31-35
philosophy customer for:less than one year
this was a gift:no
start here
Posted:July 4, 2009
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
this is a great set for anyone new to philosophy. after buying it, you will move on to the rest of the philosophy line. trust me.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for advanced makeup optional skincare system
Location:Salt lake city, UT
age:31-35
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
LOve, love, love this kit & it shows in my skin!
Posted:June 21, 2009
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
THis kit is an amazing deal! wow! If philosophy would just add eye hope, this kit would be perfect.
If you've never tried philosophy, I'd say this is the kit to buy (and then add an eye cream)
Purity: the best cleanser ever! gets rid of all makeup & leaves my skin soft, never dried out. Microdelivery wash: Fabulous! this is the greatest daily exfoliater!
Hiaj spf 20 is a must have - just as amazing as hiaj with out spf, but it has spf, so it protects your face from sun damage. When hope is not enough serum: LOVE it!!! this firms my skin, hydrates it & is just awesome over all!!! I can't go a morning without this serum. Help me: WOW!!! really, this product wowed me! my skin has never looked or felt so good. smaller pores, clearer, brighter skin. If you're under 35ish you may not see dramatic results, but start using this even earlier & you'll reap the amazing benefits without the drama ;-)
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for advanced makeup optional skincare system
Location:cincinnati, oh
age:36-40
philosophy customer for:3-5 years
  • Expert
What a buy for anti-aging!
Posted:June 15, 2009
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
this kit is such a great value for fantastic product! i love that if you have anti-aging needs that you can have it all in one kit.... how amazing! love your skin again!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for advanced makeup optional skincare system
Location:Antioch, ca
age:51-60
philosophy customer for:less than one year
this was a gift:no
amazing makeup optional
Posted:June 10, 2009
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
i just recieved this yesterday and always wear makeup but today I used it and once i went through the process i discovered that i didn't need makeup today and that was the amazing part. these products are just amazing!
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for advanced makeup optional skincare system
Location:NY
age:31-35
philosophy customer for:6+ years
Posted:June 10, 2009
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
A great well-rounded philosophy skin care kit with some wonderful anti-aging products too. love the purity and it is by far the best thing i've ever found at removing make-up -- even waterproof eyeliner! hope in a jar with spf is a great way to remember to apply sunscreen as part of your daily skin care routine too. the microdelivery exfoliating wash has little scrubby beads the rinse away the rough spots on your skin without being too harsh on your face. such a great kit!
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>