Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

philosophy hope in a jar a to z cream

complexion perfecting bb cream 1 oz. broad spectrum spf 20 sunscreen
Average Customer Rating:
4.579 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
don't just take our word for it...18 out of 1995%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for hope in a jar a to z cream
Review 1 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:CA
age:26-30
philosophy customer for:6+ years
bb cream philosophy style
Posted:March 4, 2014
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
THANK YOU philosophy for finally making a BB cream. I had tried every other brand on the market, but as a die hard philosophy girl, i knew you could do it better. I agree with other reviewers that the range of shades is somewhat limited, but that is how most bb creams are. it isn't foundation. I went with the medium shade which i thought might be a little dark in the summer, but the rep assured me that the lighter shade would look too chalky. I'm happy I went with the darker shade. you only need a little of this product at a time and it goes a long way. the key is to make sure you really rub it into your skin like moisturizer and don't let it just sit on top like foundation. On days that I want even lighter coverage, i mix it with Hope in a Jar oil free. It is a really buildable product and I can always get the exact level of coverage that I want. This has joined the long list of my philosophy "must haves"
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:washington dc
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
i like it, but...
Posted:February 14, 2014
Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Pros: it's light, sinks in for a soft, matte finish. a little goes a long way and it layers beautifully if you need additional coverage. it is definitely your skin but much better.
Cons: very limited shade range. the light and the medium mixed together are almost the right color for me. a bit pricey for the amount you get.
Conclusion: This would be a winner of a bb cream if the shade worked for my skin, and i didn't have to buy two to blend it myself. Worth trying, but sample it in a department store first before investing.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:fort worth, tx
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
pleasantly surprised
Posted:February 12, 2014
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I'd been wanting to try this product for a while but I thought nothing could trump the Supernatural primer so I just kept passing it up. Well, with apologies to my faithful Supernatural, I have to say I prefer this a to z cream. It primes and serves as a light foundation with enough coverage to even out skin tone. Also, it leaves a dewy finish, so if you like that look this product might be for you. I do wish it came in more shades - I have to mix the light and medium to get the right shade. Overall though, great product.
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:michigan
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:1-2 years
this was a gift:no
a surprising bb cream
Posted:February 10, 2014
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I have been searching for a good bb cream for the past few months. A-Z is probably one of the best one around. The formula is smooth and easy to apply. Feels very light on the skin, Primes foundation well, too. I mainly use this as a foundation/primer/moisturizer so I am rushing in the morning. The coverage is pretty good (not a full coverage, but pretty close). I use a powder foundation over the A-Z cream and my make up looks pretty matte the full work day. My only compliant is the cost. I do feel it is an expensive bb cream, but it seems like all the bb creams that work very well are in the same price range. I have acne prone skin and so far this bb cream does not cause any acne.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for hope in a jar a to z cream
age:31-35
philosophy customer for:3-5 years
this was a gift:no
Great with just a few cons
Posted:January 20, 2014
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
First, let me tell you about my skin - VERY fair (as in, probably 75% of foundation lines don't make a shade light enough for me), VERY dry, and I don't need a ton of coverage.
Overall, I think this product is really outstanding. My skin almost glows when I use it. Provides just the right amount of coverage (a little concealer here and there finishes the job perfectly). Won't handle more intense coverage needs, but BB creams aren't designed for that anyway. The "light" shade works perfectly for me, but it's so sheer that it could definitely cover a wide range of "light" skin tones.
Here's my couple of caveats to that (which even in total I don't think merit taking off a star). First, when I first put this on it tends to look a little chalky. I was unsure at first, but a little later that chalky look is gone, so I think it just needs to sink in. But, if your skin has a slightly darker tone than the product you choose, I don't know if it would stick around. Second, this stuff is not enough of a moisturizer on its own for me, I still need to use a good lightweight one underneath otherwise my skin gets tight. But, like I said, I have VERY dry skin, so if you don't then that probably wouldn't be an issue. But, that's it!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:New York City
age:51-60
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
Not your daughter's BB cream
Posted:November 21, 2013
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
This product is outstanding. Melts into your skin with precision leaving a dewy moisturizing even colored glow. Liquid gold! I am a middle aged grandmother and I have spent the last 6 months hunting for a new foundation.
I was visiting my daughter and now I need to buy some for her too. She has been a longtime Hope in a Jar user.
The only complaint is the amount in the tube. I am going to need a bigger tube! I bought two because I need to mix the light with the medium. Please make a jumbo tube.
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:Jacksonville, FL
age:26-30
philosophy customer for:3-5 years
Surprise Hit!
Posted:November 13, 2013
Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
I was nervous about another bb-type cream, but I really enjoy this. It has SPF, and it definitely gives you the "your skin but better" look and coverage. I wish it had just a tiny bit more coverage, and an expanded shade range. Overall great product - definitely give it a try.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:Jacksonville, FL
age:36-40
philosophy customer for:1-2 years
this was a gift:no
Love this stuff!
Posted:October 24, 2013
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Growing up, I never needed to wear makeup. Complexion was good, rarely a break out, etc. As an adult, I have developed rosacea. My face is constantly splotchy and red and after washing, it gets dry and flaky. All other foundation type creams I have tried just accentuated the dryness. I found this product at a department store recently and it is great. It gives me nice smooth coverage, without looking cakey. It covers the redness and has not irritated my skin. I have been using the medium and it gives me just enough color without looking unnatural. The price is a little steep but applying it with a foundation brush makes a little go a long way. Give it a try!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:california
age:18-25
philosophy customer for:1-2 years
this was a gift:no
kinda obsessed!
Posted:October 9, 2013
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
wow! this is a great all around deal for your face! use it in the morning and it lasts all day. i was looking for something to replace my heavy foundation as I dont need that much coverage now, but I did need something that would cover up my redness/scarring and powder alone doesnt cut it. this is perfect! i have combination skin, so i use moisturizer under it in my particularly dry spots (although if your skin was normal you could certainly skip this step). Anyway after applying, my skin is in excellent condition. on days when i dont work i can acutally just have this on without the extra coverage and feel comfortable with how i look. i also like that it has a little pump for application
So to break it down: this is simple, easy to use, and provides good coverage all in one step. talk about convenient!!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:Chicago, IL
age:31-35
philosophy customer for:3-5 years
this was a gift:no
great, light coverage
Posted:October 5, 2013
Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
I was hesitant to try this, but I finally decided to take the plunge and order it. I have used it for about a week now, and it's great for days when I don't want to layer my daily sunscreen, primer, and foundation. It provides light coverage but I am pleased at how awesome that little bit of coverage makes my skin look. The only negative is the price....$38 is a little steep for me to continue to order this on a regular basis
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:Chicago, IL
age:26-30
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
good stuff
Posted:October 2, 2013
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
This Evens my skin tone and I find it provides more coverage than the handful of bb creams I've tried. I use it in the morning in place of a moisturizer, under my foundation, and my combination skin feels smooth and comfortable all day. On the weekends this is all I use and it reduces some redness I have in my cheeks and just makes my skin tone more even and glowy. Love it!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:springfield, IL
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
why did i wait so long?!
Posted:September 7, 2013
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I am loving this! well, I just used it for the first time today but, i love it!
the medium color is perfect, not too light, not too dark. it goes on very smoothly. (i did not use any additional moisturizer underneath. I have normal skin and don't feel dry.) it covered all of my imperfections with only a tiny bit, and I only needed a small amount of my supernatural airbrushed canvas makeup over the top!
because i don't need to use as much, this will make my moisturizer and mineral makeup last twice as long!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:mesa, az
age:51-60
philosophy customer for:1-2 years
this was a gift:no
recommend!
Posted:September 7, 2013
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
this bb cream provides light coverage but did a great job evening out my skin tone and giving my skin a smooth finish.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for hope in a jar a to z cream
age:31-35
philosophy customer for:3-5 years
Nice replacement for hope in a tinted moisturizer
Posted:August 27, 2013
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
When Hope in a tinted moisturizer first came out (Before BB creams hit the market) I was using it as my foundation... I found it gave me a nice dewy, glowy, subtle, but yet good coverage since you could layer it... I think this new a to z cream product is very similar to the hope in a tinted which I guess is now discontinued... but I think it is a good replacement since it also has the primer built in which helps it last longer and this new product is buildable also so you could layer it and get the desired coverage... i hate regular foundation and now i just use this and set it with powder, dust on some blush, and i am ready in less than 5 minutes... it makes you look glowy and subtle not overly made up... i wear the color "Light" and find it makes me look like i've gotten some sun... i think because it has a yellow base so it helps tone down my redness since I am fair and tend to have pink tones, so it makes me look almost like I am tanned which is very nice
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:nashville
age:36-40
philosophy customer for:less than one year
this was a gift:no
ABC...easy as 123!
Posted:August 14, 2013
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I have been wanting to try a BB or cc cream and was just about to purchase when i saw my fav skincare line had the a-z. love it. but how can philosophy go wrong, really? I wear this alone or with my normal makeup application, either way its awesome!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:San Diego, ca
age:31-35
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
love it!
Posted:July 29, 2013
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
this is my first BB cream and I am loving it! it has a nice coverage and smooths out my complexion. this is great for summer when you don't feel like putting on makeup. if you have a lot of breakouts, you might need extra coverage though. i am definitely repurchasing this!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:Illinois
age:51-60
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
I love it!
Posted:July 28, 2013
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
the more I use this a-z cream the more I love it. I really like philosophy's foundations so I was eager to try this.
after all these years of using philosophy skin care I really do have make-up optional skin, my skin looks good, but I'm just so pale, almost washed-out sometimes. I like to use a little foundation to give my face some color. I tried on both the light and the medium. when I first saw the medium color I was sure it was going to be too dark, but this is my normal color range and as I blended it in I was amazed at how the color adapted to my complexion. so I would say stick to your normal color range with this product.
this cream has a very silky consistency and great slip, it just glides on. what I like the most about it is the natural look it delivers. you get coverage but you can still see your skin, it doesn't give you that mask-like look some foundations do. you can adjust the coverage you want by adding more or using less. it feels so lightweight on your skin, you don't even feel like you are wearing anything.
I've tried this with and without a moisturizer. I have combination skin that fluctuates with the weather, but my cheeks are always normal to dry--more on the dry side. wearing this without a moisturizer underneath didn't give me enough hydration--although I'm sure it would be enough for an oilier skin or a younger skin. it also has more of a matte finish without a moisturizer. I've been using this with my when hope is not enough serum and hope in a jar moisturizer and the results are spectacular. It gives me this healthy looking glow with a subtle hint of color and very very natural looking vibrant skin.
I ALSO LOVE THAT THIS HAS AN spf in it. I've used other foundations with an spf that if placed too close to the eyes caused my eyes to tear. well I've used this one right under my eyes over my concealer and have no irritation, tears or adverse effects. there is a faint scent, like barely there, but not a heavy or perfumey scent at all.
I had tried two other bb creams from leading dept. store brands and they looked terrible on me. they appeared too opaque, felt heavy and made me feel uncomfortable. I was convinced that these new bb-type creams were just not for me. but philosophy didn't disappoint me, this a-z cream is so much better than those and it certainly lives up to the standards of the iconic "hope" franchise. i'm so glad I tried it, I love it.
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:California
age:over 60
philosophy customer for:6+ years
So sad this did not meet expectations
Posted:July 16, 2013
Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
imagine my excitement when I saw a newly opened ulta store in town just after I read this new product was available exclusively there. I tried the bb cream and was first disappointed with the gray based color, and then dismayed as my face began to burn and itch. I loved the tinted moisturizer and thought this would be similar. It must have some anti aging ingredient as I know all those products bother me. Sad.
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:gREEN BAY, wi
age:31-35
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
philosophy knocks it out of the park!
Posted:July 6, 2013
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I absolutely LOve this product! I recently purchased it at my local Ulta store. i have been wanting to try a bb cream but have been hesitant due to the prices out there. this one was also a little steep price wise, but well worth the money. a little goes a long way with this product. it has very nice, buildable coverage and feels smooth and luxurious going on the skin. i have fair skin with a lot of redness and surprisingly, the light shade works great for me. usually i have to have a "fair" shade and the "light" shades are too dark for me. not with this one! I also am so thankful to philosophy for coming up with a product that has all you need rolled into one - moisturizer, spf, treatment, nice coverage, etc! it can be such a pain to have to use multiple products. with this, i can just wash my face and go right to the a to z cream if i am in a rush. i would highly recommend this product to anyone. this stuff makes the skin look like a dream both in person and in photographs. thank you again philosophy!
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.