Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

philosophy hope in a jar a to z cream

complexion perfecting bb cream 1 oz. broad spectrum spf 20 sunscreen
Average Customer Rating:
4.371 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
don't just take our word for it...31 out of 3589%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for hope in a jar a to z cream
Review 1 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:midwest
age:51-60
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
not feeling loved
Posted:July 30, 2015
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I used AtoZ LIGHT daily pretty much as long as it was on the market. I can't imagine why it would be discontinued while the medium remains. I tried a tube of "no where to hide" and doubt I'll replace it when it's used up soon. It's more expensive and I don't like how it sits on my skin. I can't use chemical sunblocks, so my choices of Philosophy products are getting pretty limited. I guess I'm supposed to look elsewhere? really? that's how a loyal customer is treated? I'm running out of reasons to shop the brand.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for hope in a jar a to z cream
age:26-30
philosophy customer for:less than one year
amazing!
Posted:June 11, 2015
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I have very sensitive skin so I've never used any foundations, powders, etc. because I was scared to on my skin type. While the 'fresh-faced' look is good for some occasions, there are others when it's not exactly ideal. I've been searching for something that doesn't clog my pores and cause breakouts and that is gentle enough for my skin and I've finally found it! I have an olive skin tone so I ordered 'medium' in this product. I only use a tiny bit and now I use it everyday just to give my face that extra something. The first time I applied I thought it might be too light but this product does a great job conforming to your skin tone and it even gives me a little bit of a glow! Absolutely love it and sold on all Philosophy products from here on out!
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:VA Beach, VA
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
Where's the light?
Posted:May 26, 2015
Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
How could you discontinue Light? First you discontinued Hope in a Jar Tinted Moisturizer on me and then you came out with this for the same price with half the product but now you discontinue Light? Seriously? Have you looked at people lately? Not everyone is Medium or Dark, some of us (especially many of us who will only use a moisturizer with SPF) have Light skin tones. Philosophy tinted moisturizers were the only ones I found that covered my scars from skin cancer and didn't run into my eyes. I'm now on a search for another tinted moisturizer but I can tell you I won't be coming back to Philosophy, Macy's will love taking my money until I find a moisturizer that works for me again.
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:Thousand Oaks, California
age:51-60
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
Had the perfect solution!
Posted:May 26, 2015
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Philosophy A-Z Cream "light" on it's own was too fair, but one pump of A-Z and one pump of Neutrogena's Healthy Skin Enhancer in "fair" was perfection. Not too peach, pink, yellow...just neutral fair and flawless. It played so well with other tinted moisturizers that are always too pink or yellow. The texure was dreamy. I have to go cry now. Thank you for what was a great product. Sincerely, Carolyn Enger
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:oakland, ca
age:26-30
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
where have you gone??
Posted:May 20, 2015
Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
this was my hg tinted moisturizer, but i cant find it in light shade anywhere!! i tried switching over to the "no reason to hide" but it just isn't the same :( so, so sad. its been like 6 months, so i think i'm gonna abandon hope and switch to laura geller bb cream, which is a close second. alas! please bring it baaaaack!
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:Colorado
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
Why did you discontinue the "Light"???!
Posted:May 16, 2015
Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
This was the BEST product for my skin, but now there is only the Medium color which is far too dark. Very disappointing!!!
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:colorado
age:51-60
philosophy customer for:1-2 years
this was a gift:no
so sad it's gone
Posted:April 22, 2015
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Philosophy! You've taken away the best makeup I've ever used -- Hope in a Jar a to z cream LIGHT. I understand it's discontinued. No one has any more of the light shade, I've scoured the internet. I've tried some of the other Philosophy makeups and they aren't as moisturizing, light but beautifully covering as a to z. What's the deal? Why kill a great product? PLEEEEEZ bring it back!
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:New York
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:1-2 years
Where did it go?????
Posted:April 19, 2015
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Philosophy...I love you - but I think we need a break. The A to Z Hope in a Jar cream made my skin smooth and provided just enough coverage. It didn't cake, went on easily and lasted. It was oil-free, which I need and is hard to find. Then, out of the blue - it disappeared! I kept checking at Sephora, thinking it was just really popular and sold out easily. I tried other similar products, but they just weren't the same; they made my face breakout or provided no coverage at all. Finally, I resorted to Google, and it didn't take long before I found post after post...Light was discontinued...but Medium was not! Philosophy, Philosophy, Philosophy...you broke my heart. PLEASE bring back the Light! I am so tired of trying to find a replacement...
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:Indiana
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:less than one year
this was a gift:no
Love this BB cream
Posted:April 7, 2015
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I have tried several creams. Some were too heavy others made me break out. I do have sensitive skin and some rosacea. I started off using Philosophy's facial wash and moisturizer. Then I purchased their BB cream. This cream is amazing! A little goes a long way. It goes on very smoothly and once applied my face feels so soft and lasts all day long. One application is all that is needed for the day. My friends have told him since I have started to use it that my face looks more even tone and refreshed. I usually have some redness on my nose from my rosacea and this cream has evened this out and my redness is gone. I don't have to try and cover it up later in day since this cream lasts all day long. I wish I would have tried this a long time ago. This is the best BB cream by far and thank you Philosophy for helping me feel confident again.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:michigan
age:31-35
philosophy customer for:3-5 years
this was a gift:no
Love this BB Cream with SPF!
Posted:April 6, 2015
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I apply this directly after my moisturizer (Miracle Worker) and I love the way this evens out my skin tone without being cakey. The SPF and light coverage are perfect for a simple, summer look or a base in winter! I will buy this again.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:Akron, OH
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:3-5 years
the perfect all in one product
Posted:March 1, 2015
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I have tried a ton of tinted moisurizers, bb creams and light foundations and this one is by far the winner for me. I cannot live without hiaj mositurizer as a daily staple, but I was having trouble finding a tinted/ bb type cream to go over top for just light coverage to even out, without the heavyness of foundation. I've been a "no makeup" type most my life, as long as you take good care of your skin. But lately I'm finding I need more moisture and a more help evening out my aging skin. This product does IT ALL, and leaves you looking even and natural in seconds. The Light shade is an absolute perfect match for my cool toned light skin. Only problem is: it appears philosophy may have discontinued the Light shade, as I cannot find it in stock anywhere recently. PLEASE bring back the Light shade hiaj a to z cream!!!!!!!!!
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:Portland, ME
age:36-40
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
Good texture, color's hit or miss
Posted:February 20, 2015
Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
I first tried hope in a jar a to z cream because I like the idea of a single thing to apply after face washing in the morning that had treatment, color, and spf. I like the texture of this product. It is thick enough to provide good coverage, but you can apply it lightly and blend, or layer it on for total coverage. You must blend it quickly because it dries fast. I like that it also seems to have a primer aspect to it that seems to minimize large pores and other skin imperfections.
I do have a hard time with the colors available though. I have light to medium olive skin. My undertones are yellow with a little bit of surface redness. I first tried the medium shade and it is ok in some situations but I thought it made me look a bit too made up. It just wasn't light enough to look really natural to me. So I ordered the light as well thinking I could maybe mix and contour with them. That didn't work out at all. The light is way too ashy for me. Once I noticed that, I realized even the medium was a little ashy too and that is what made the color seem unnatural on me. In general, I would prefer a more golden tone. I would buy again for the texture and coverage, but will likely look for a better color match elsewhere.
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:Atlanta
age:36-40
philosophy customer for:less than one year
this was a gift:no
This is one of the better BB creams
Posted:August 24, 2014
Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
I bought this after I saw it at a discount local retail store. I was having severely dry patch near my eyes from my "sensitive" moisturizer, I stopped using that and started using this and the patches were gone. My skin is pretty dry or it is just how BB creams seem to be on me, but it wasn't moisturizing enough at this point for me. I have only been using this a week so I mixed it with HIAJ (which I plan to stop using after I am done with the jar since it has parabens in it, while the BB cream does not. )
Pros: the light color is perfect for me, but I have fair skin. Not as moisturizing as I like (but like I said my skin had been decimated by other products so hoping this changes over time), but it does build coverage nicely. Didn't seem to irritate my skin. No parabens!
Cons: Price. This is about 5 times as expensive as the other BB cream I was using.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:Pacific Northwest
age:over 60
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
Another Great Philosophy Product!
Posted:August 14, 2014
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I've been using Philosophy products ever since my daughter introduced me to them when she sold them in a large city department store about 10 years ago. I really like the BB Cream. I was a little hesitant as I was not satisfied with some other brands I tried.
I don't like to wear a lot of makeup and this gives enough coverage plus moisture and SPF to then just add just a light touch of powder and I'm ready to go,. The light shade works just fine for my fair skin.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:kansas
age:over 60
philosophy customer for:3-5 years
this was a gift:no
Love This BB Cream
Posted:June 7, 2014
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I have been looking for a summer foundation like this for years. There is another brand that has something similar but it doesn't have an SPF in it and it costs about twice as much as this Philosophy product. This evens the skin but doesn't look heavy like a foundation. My freckles still show through which is okay with me b/c I don't want that matte look for summer and week-ends. This is a winner.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:USA
age:51-60
philosophy customer for:6+ years
Don't you dare quit making this product!
Posted:April 30, 2014
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
This A-Z cream does everything it promises to do. Great for multi-tasking. Looks natural, applies easily, wears well, no irritation--simply an outstanding product! I do wish it would come in more colors though. I also wish Philosophy would expand its color cosmetics line to include blush, mascara and lip color like in the past. Anyway, A-Z has become a staple in my routine, just like Purity and HIAJ, so please do not discontinue this product like you have done with so many other favorites.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:CA
age:26-30
philosophy customer for:6+ years
bb cream philosophy style
Posted:March 4, 2014
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
THANK YOU philosophy for finally making a BB cream. I had tried every other brand on the market, but as a die hard philosophy girl, i knew you could do it better. I agree with other reviewers that the range of shades is somewhat limited, but that is how most bb creams are. it isn't foundation. I went with the medium shade which i thought might be a little dark in the summer, but the rep assured me that the lighter shade would look too chalky. I'm happy I went with the darker shade. you only need a little of this product at a time and it goes a long way. the key is to make sure you really rub it into your skin like moisturizer and don't let it just sit on top like foundation. On days that I want even lighter coverage, i mix it with Hope in a Jar oil free. It is a really buildable product and I can always get the exact level of coverage that I want. This has joined the long list of my philosophy "must haves"
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:washington dc
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
i like it, but...
Posted:February 14, 2014
Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Pros: it's light, sinks in for a soft, matte finish. a little goes a long way and it layers beautifully if you need additional coverage. it is definitely your skin but much better.
Cons: very limited shade range. the light and the medium mixed together are almost the right color for me. a bit pricey for the amount you get.
Conclusion: This would be a winner of a bb cream if the shade worked for my skin, and i didn't have to buy two to blend it myself. Worth trying, but sample it in a department store first before investing.
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:fort worth, tx
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
pleasantly surprised
Posted:February 12, 2014
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I'd been wanting to try this product for a while but I thought nothing could trump the Supernatural primer so I just kept passing it up. Well, with apologies to my faithful Supernatural, I have to say I prefer this a to z cream. It primes and serves as a light foundation with enough coverage to even out skin tone. Also, it leaves a dewy finish, so if you like that look this product might be for you. I do wish it came in more shades - I have to mix the light and medium to get the right shade. Overall though, great product.
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:michigan
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:1-2 years
this was a gift:no
a surprising bb cream
Posted:February 10, 2014
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I have been searching for a good bb cream for the past few months. A-Z is probably one of the best one around. The formula is smooth and easy to apply. Feels very light on the skin, Primes foundation well, too. I mainly use this as a foundation/primer/moisturizer so I am rushing in the morning. The coverage is pretty good (not a full coverage, but pretty close). I use a powder foundation over the A-Z cream and my make up looks pretty matte the full work day. My only compliant is the cost. I do feel it is an expensive bb cream, but it seems like all the bb creams that work very well are in the same price range. I have acne prone skin and so far this bb cream does not cause any acne.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>