Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at philosophy.

philosophy hope in a jar a to z cream

complexion perfecting bb cream 1 oz. broad spectrum spf 20 sunscreen
Average Customer Rating:
4.263 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
5
don't just take our word for it...33 out of 3887%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for hope in a jar a to z cream
Review 1 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:milwaukee
age:51-60
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
The medium shade is fantastic!
Posted:October 14, 2015
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
As a longtime user of the 'light' shade, I was as disappointed as everyone else when it was discontinued. However, because I love the product so much, I decided to try the 'medium' and I am ecstatic with it -- even happier than I was with the 'light' shade. I have very fair skin with major pink undertones and the color and coverage is absolute perfection - some mornings I even forget to apply my tinted moisturizer/foundation as the next step because my skin looks so good. I buy zillions of cosmetics and beauty products and I only take the time to review the best of the best and this product is one of them. So glad I tried it!
+4points
7of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:midwest
age:51-60
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
not feeling loved
Posted:July 30, 2015
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I used AtoZ LIGHT daily pretty much as long as it was on the market. I can't imagine why it would be discontinued while the medium remains. I tried a tube of "no where to hide" and doubt I'll replace it when it's used up soon. It's more expensive and I don't like how it sits on my skin. I can't use chemical sunblocks, so my choices of Philosophy products are getting pretty limited. I guess I'm supposed to look elsewhere? really? that's how a loyal customer is treated? I'm running out of reasons to shop the brand.
+15points
16of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for hope in a jar a to z cream
age:26-30
philosophy customer for:less than one year
amazing!
Posted:June 11, 2015
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I have very sensitive skin so I've never used any foundations, powders, etc. because I was scared to on my skin type. While the 'fresh-faced' look is good for some occasions, there are others when it's not exactly ideal. I've been searching for something that doesn't clog my pores and cause breakouts and that is gentle enough for my skin and I've finally found it! I have an olive skin tone so I ordered 'medium' in this product. I only use a tiny bit and now I use it everyday just to give my face that extra something. The first time I applied I thought it might be too light but this product does a great job conforming to your skin tone and it even gives me a little bit of a glow! Absolutely love it and sold on all Philosophy products from here on out!
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:Thousand Oaks, California
age:51-60
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
Had the perfect solution!
Posted:May 26, 2015
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Philosophy A-Z Cream "light" on it's own was too fair, but one pump of A-Z and one pump of Neutrogena's Healthy Skin Enhancer in "fair" was perfection. Not too peach, pink, yellow...just neutral fair and flawless. It played so well with other tinted moisturizers that are always too pink or yellow. The texure was dreamy. I have to go cry now. Thank you for what was a great product. Sincerely, Carolyn Enger
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:colorado
age:51-60
philosophy customer for:1-2 years
this was a gift:no
so sad it's gone
Posted:April 22, 2015
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Philosophy! You've taken away the best makeup I've ever used -- Hope in a Jar a to z cream LIGHT. I understand it's discontinued. No one has any more of the light shade, I've scoured the internet. I've tried some of the other Philosophy makeups and they aren't as moisturizing, light but beautifully covering as a to z. What's the deal? Why kill a great product? PLEEEEEZ bring it back!
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:New York
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:1-2 years
Where did it go?????
Posted:April 19, 2015
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Philosophy...I love you - but I think we need a break. The A to Z Hope in a Jar cream made my skin smooth and provided just enough coverage. It didn't cake, went on easily and lasted. It was oil-free, which I need and is hard to find. Then, out of the blue - it disappeared! I kept checking at Sephora, thinking it was just really popular and sold out easily. I tried other similar products, but they just weren't the same; they made my face breakout or provided no coverage at all. Finally, I resorted to Google, and it didn't take long before I found post after post...Light was discontinued...but Medium was not! Philosophy, Philosophy, Philosophy...you broke my heart. PLEASE bring back the Light! I am so tired of trying to find a replacement...
+13points
13of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:Indiana
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:less than one year
this was a gift:no
Love this BB cream
Posted:April 7, 2015
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I have tried several creams. Some were too heavy others made me break out. I do have sensitive skin and some rosacea. I started off using Philosophy's facial wash and moisturizer. Then I purchased their BB cream. This cream is amazing! A little goes a long way. It goes on very smoothly and once applied my face feels so soft and lasts all day long. One application is all that is needed for the day. My friends have told him since I have started to use it that my face looks more even tone and refreshed. I usually have some redness on my nose from my rosacea and this cream has evened this out and my redness is gone. I don't have to try and cover it up later in day since this cream lasts all day long. I wish I would have tried this a long time ago. This is the best BB cream by far and thank you Philosophy for helping me feel confident again.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:michigan
age:31-35
philosophy customer for:3-5 years
this was a gift:no
Love this BB Cream with SPF!
Posted:April 6, 2015
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I apply this directly after my moisturizer (Miracle Worker) and I love the way this evens out my skin tone without being cakey. The SPF and light coverage are perfect for a simple, summer look or a base in winter! I will buy this again.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:Akron, OH
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:3-5 years
the perfect all in one product
Posted:March 1, 2015
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I have tried a ton of tinted moisurizers, bb creams and light foundations and this one is by far the winner for me. I cannot live without hiaj mositurizer as a daily staple, but I was having trouble finding a tinted/ bb type cream to go over top for just light coverage to even out, without the heavyness of foundation. I've been a "no makeup" type most my life, as long as you take good care of your skin. But lately I'm finding I need more moisture and a more help evening out my aging skin. This product does IT ALL, and leaves you looking even and natural in seconds. The Light shade is an absolute perfect match for my cool toned light skin. Only problem is: it appears philosophy may have discontinued the Light shade, as I cannot find it in stock anywhere recently. PLEASE bring back the Light shade hiaj a to z cream!!!!!!!!!
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:Pacific Northwest
age:over 60
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
Another Great Philosophy Product!
Posted:August 14, 2014
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I've been using Philosophy products ever since my daughter introduced me to them when she sold them in a large city department store about 10 years ago. I really like the BB Cream. I was a little hesitant as I was not satisfied with some other brands I tried.
I don't like to wear a lot of makeup and this gives enough coverage plus moisture and SPF to then just add just a light touch of powder and I'm ready to go,. The light shade works just fine for my fair skin.
0points
0of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:kansas
age:over 60
philosophy customer for:3-5 years
this was a gift:no
Love This BB Cream
Posted:June 7, 2014
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I have been looking for a summer foundation like this for years. There is another brand that has something similar but it doesn't have an SPF in it and it costs about twice as much as this Philosophy product. This evens the skin but doesn't look heavy like a foundation. My freckles still show through which is okay with me b/c I don't want that matte look for summer and week-ends. This is a winner.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:USA
age:51-60
philosophy customer for:6+ years
Don't you dare quit making this product!
Posted:April 30, 2014
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
This A-Z cream does everything it promises to do. Great for multi-tasking. Looks natural, applies easily, wears well, no irritation--simply an outstanding product! I do wish it would come in more colors though. I also wish Philosophy would expand its color cosmetics line to include blush, mascara and lip color like in the past. Anyway, A-Z has become a staple in my routine, just like Purity and HIAJ, so please do not discontinue this product like you have done with so many other favorites.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:CA
age:26-30
philosophy customer for:6+ years
bb cream philosophy style
Posted:March 4, 2014
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
THANK YOU philosophy for finally making a BB cream. I had tried every other brand on the market, but as a die hard philosophy girl, i knew you could do it better. I agree with other reviewers that the range of shades is somewhat limited, but that is how most bb creams are. it isn't foundation. I went with the medium shade which i thought might be a little dark in the summer, but the rep assured me that the lighter shade would look too chalky. I'm happy I went with the darker shade. you only need a little of this product at a time and it goes a long way. the key is to make sure you really rub it into your skin like moisturizer and don't let it just sit on top like foundation. On days that I want even lighter coverage, i mix it with Hope in a Jar oil free. It is a really buildable product and I can always get the exact level of coverage that I want. This has joined the long list of my philosophy "must haves"
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:fort worth, tx
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
pleasantly surprised
Posted:February 12, 2014
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I'd been wanting to try this product for a while but I thought nothing could trump the Supernatural primer so I just kept passing it up. Well, with apologies to my faithful Supernatural, I have to say I prefer this a to z cream. It primes and serves as a light foundation with enough coverage to even out skin tone. Also, it leaves a dewy finish, so if you like that look this product might be for you. I do wish it came in more shades - I have to mix the light and medium to get the right shade. Overall though, great product.
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:michigan
age:41-50
philosophy customer for:1-2 years
this was a gift:no
a surprising bb cream
Posted:February 10, 2014
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
I have been searching for a good bb cream for the past few months. A-Z is probably one of the best one around. The formula is smooth and easy to apply. Feels very light on the skin, Primes foundation well, too. I mainly use this as a foundation/primer/moisturizer so I am rushing in the morning. The coverage is pretty good (not a full coverage, but pretty close). I use a powder foundation over the A-Z cream and my make up looks pretty matte the full work day. My only compliant is the cost. I do feel it is an expensive bb cream, but it seems like all the bb creams that work very well are in the same price range. I have acne prone skin and so far this bb cream does not cause any acne.
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for hope in a jar a to z cream
age:31-35
philosophy customer for:3-5 years
this was a gift:no
Great with just a few cons
Posted:January 20, 2014
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
First, let me tell you about my skin - VERY fair (as in, probably 75% of foundation lines don't make a shade light enough for me), VERY dry, and I don't need a ton of coverage.
Overall, I think this product is really outstanding. My skin almost glows when I use it. Provides just the right amount of coverage (a little concealer here and there finishes the job perfectly). Won't handle more intense coverage needs, but BB creams aren't designed for that anyway. The "light" shade works perfectly for me, but it's so sheer that it could definitely cover a wide range of "light" skin tones.
Here's my couple of caveats to that (which even in total I don't think merit taking off a star). First, when I first put this on it tends to look a little chalky. I was unsure at first, but a little later that chalky look is gone, so I think it just needs to sink in. But, if your skin has a slightly darker tone than the product you choose, I don't know if it would stick around. Second, this stuff is not enough of a moisturizer on its own for me, I still need to use a good lightweight one underneath otherwise my skin gets tight. But, like I said, I have VERY dry skin, so if you don't then that probably wouldn't be an issue. But, that's it!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:New York City
age:51-60
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
Not your daughter's BB cream
Posted:November 21, 2013
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
This product is outstanding. Melts into your skin with precision leaving a dewy moisturizing even colored glow. Liquid gold! I am a middle aged grandmother and I have spent the last 6 months hunting for a new foundation.
I was visiting my daughter and now I need to buy some for her too. She has been a longtime Hope in a Jar user.
The only complaint is the amount in the tube. I am going to need a bigger tube! I bought two because I need to mix the light with the medium. Please make a jumbo tube.
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:Jacksonville, FL
age:36-40
philosophy customer for:1-2 years
this was a gift:no
Love this stuff!
Posted:October 24, 2013
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Growing up, I never needed to wear makeup. Complexion was good, rarely a break out, etc. As an adult, I have developed rosacea. My face is constantly splotchy and red and after washing, it gets dry and flaky. All other foundation type creams I have tried just accentuated the dryness. I found this product at a department store recently and it is great. It gives me nice smooth coverage, without looking cakey. It covers the redness and has not irritated my skin. I have been using the medium and it gives me just enough color without looking unnatural. The price is a little steep but applying it with a foundation brush makes a little go a long way. Give it a try!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:california
age:18-25
philosophy customer for:1-2 years
this was a gift:no
kinda obsessed!
Posted:October 9, 2013
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
wow! this is a great all around deal for your face! use it in the morning and it lasts all day. i was looking for something to replace my heavy foundation as I dont need that much coverage now, but I did need something that would cover up my redness/scarring and powder alone doesnt cut it. this is perfect! i have combination skin, so i use moisturizer under it in my particularly dry spots (although if your skin was normal you could certainly skip this step). Anyway after applying, my skin is in excellent condition. on days when i dont work i can acutally just have this on without the extra coverage and feel comfortable with how i look. i also like that it has a little pump for application
So to break it down: this is simple, easy to use, and provides good coverage all in one step. talk about convenient!!
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for hope in a jar a to z cream
Location:Chicago, IL
age:26-30
philosophy customer for:6+ years
this was a gift:no
good stuff
Posted:October 2, 2013
Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
This Evens my skin tone and I find it provides more coverage than the handful of bb creams I've tried. I use it in the morning in place of a moisturizer, under my foundation, and my combination skin feels smooth and comfortable all day. On the weekends this is all I use and it reduces some redness I have in my cheeks and just makes my skin tone more even and glowy. Love it!
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>